PDA

View Full Version : Airport Extreme and a PC - Help


RajK
Sep 25, 2003, 08:11 AM
I recently received my Airport Extreme base station and while I'm waiting for my wife's new iMac to arrive I thought I would hook it up to my aging PC to try and set it up. The iMac has an Airport Extreme card so I was hoping to just wirelessly add it to the network when it arrives.

I connected the PC to the LAN port on the station with an ethernet cable but I couldn't get it to work. I downloaded the utility for Windows and it wouldn't detect my base station. I'm using Windows 98 and my internet connection is through a Comcast cable modem.

The documentation that comes with the airport is not very helpful and my searches online haven't helped at all. If anyone out there could offer some help I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks.

tomf87
Sep 25, 2003, 12:08 PM
Did you get the Airport Extreme utility or Airport utility?

The AEB utility for Windows is at

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=120226

Also, I thought Airport base stations had to be initially configured from a Mac. I'm almost sure I read that somewhere, but I could be wrong.

tomf87
Sep 26, 2003, 02:40 PM
Just an update.

I found this while researching the AEBS at:

http://www.apple.com/airport/specs.html

near the bottom:

(6) Initial AirPort Extreme setup requires an AirPort-enabled Macintosh computer.

RajK
Sep 29, 2003, 07:04 AM
Thanks. That's exactly what I did - I just set it up with my Mac. Works fine now.