PDA

View Full Version : Can you hook up a mac to mac?


Col127
Sep 30, 2003, 06:36 AM
I was wondering if it was possible to hook a mac directly up to another mac. If you can, what kind of plug do you use? A RJ45 cable (ethernet) or what?

I always thought you can use a firewire cable to hook them up, but the ends are different so I guess not :P

teabgs
Sep 30, 2003, 06:55 AM
you need a 6 pin to 6 pin firewire to do that, not a 6 to 4. Ethernet will work as well.

bbarnhart
Sep 30, 2003, 06:55 AM
You can hook up two Macs with a firewire cable. How to link. (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=58583) . You may need a different firewire cable.

It is easier to use a crossover cable (or if they are modern Macs, a regular ethernet cable as the ethernet ports can auto-detect) and setup file sharing and share files that way.

tomf87
Sep 30, 2003, 08:05 AM
If you are hooking up two macs that support Gigabit Ethernet, just use an RJ45 cable. If not, go Firewire. Those are your fastest routes.

PaisanoMan
Oct 3, 2003, 02:11 AM
Originally posted by tomf87
If you are hooking up two macs that support Gigabit Ethernet, just use an RJ45 cable. If not, go Firewire. Those are your fastest routes.

If you use FireWire Target Disk mode, just don't forget to unmount the Mac before you pull the plug -- you risk corrupting your disk if you do.

Otherwise, it's practically foolproof.