PDA

View Full Version : Does iMac G4 run leopard?




shuffles
Jan 29, 2008, 06:15 PM
I jst pre ordered a macbook air and want to get a mac desktop as well but i dont have much money left after buying the Air so i was thinking of buying a G4 from ebay (the one with the swivelly screen). Personally, i think its the nicest looking iMac ever built n i can get one for bout 250 euro, but i was wondering if it would run Leopard on it??? and iLife '08 and Office '08??

Cheers,
Shuffles.



motulist
Jan 29, 2008, 06:21 PM
Search before posting a question, and ye shall find.

http://www.apple.com/macosx/techspecs/

CashGap
Jan 30, 2008, 07:58 AM
And as additional anectdotal support, I run Leopard on a 1.25 iMac G4 and it runs very well, though I don't use iLife apps on it. I believe others have had similar good experiences.

dsharits
Jan 30, 2008, 08:02 AM
I have it running very well on an 700 iMac G4. No problems whatsoever. Now, keep in mind, I had to install it with the iMac connected to my iBook as a target disk, but that's only because it doesn't have a DVD drive and it doesn't meet the minimum requirements as far as processor speed.

sunfast
Jan 30, 2008, 08:17 AM
I put it on my parent's 1GHz G4 iMac with 768MB RAM. Runs like a charm :)

JSchwage
Jan 30, 2008, 08:27 AM
Leopard will run on any G4 with a minimum of an 867 MHz processor and 512 MB of memory. Though I'd recommend at least a 1 GHz G4 and 1 GB of RAM.

Cdmphoenix
Feb 5, 2008, 04:49 PM
I just purchased exactly the computer that sunfast's parents have and I was wondering if I could put leopard on it with it running reasonably well. I already knew the requirements I just like to now that other people have done the same exact situation and have had success. I don't really have a good reason to switch to leopard but its only 69 bucks at my school store so I might do that (iwork '08 and ilife '08 are only 39 so I might get those too :) Its my first mac so wish me luck! (if anyone reads this thread which isn't likely) :p

Digitalflick
Feb 7, 2008, 05:44 PM
I installed it on my 700MHz G4 iMac over firewire. The only issue I have with it is it will not wake from sleep. It just comes up with multicolored lines on the display. A restart is needed to fix it. As long as I keep it form going to sleep no issues.

Cdmphoenix
Feb 14, 2008, 10:16 PM
I have a 15" 1.0 ghz imac g4 with 768 mb of ram. I plan to use garageband 08, word processing and web browsing and copy dvds to it for watching on it. I am going to put leopard on it and I wanted to know if it sounds like I should up the ram to 1.25gb? Thanks.