PDA

View Full Version : Will my G4's drives work in new Mac Pro?




Will G.
Feb 2, 2008, 12:00 PM
In my current dual 800mhz PowerMac G4 (http://support.apple.com/specs/powermac/Power_Mac_G4_Quicksilver.html), I have two 80gb hard drives which were ordered from Apple (didn't know better at the time). Will I be able to put them in my Mac Pro when it comes in a few weeks, or are they too old to be compatible?

Thanks. :)



FJ218700
Feb 2, 2008, 12:04 PM
no, sorry.

Dark Dragoon
Feb 2, 2008, 12:16 PM
You should be able put one in the second optical drive bay.

OrangeSVTguy
Feb 2, 2008, 12:16 PM
can't you install one in the second optical drive bay? or are they sata too?

edit:
DD beat me to it lol

Sweetfeld28
Feb 7, 2008, 03:04 PM
everymac.com (http://www.everymac.com)

Compare the ports between the two computers. MacPro's have SATA drives, while G4's had IDE.

aibo
Feb 7, 2008, 07:25 PM
you can slap 2 IDE (ATA) drives into a case like this (http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other%20World%20Computing/MEFW912AL2/) and hook it up through Firewire 800. I'm not saying it makes any financial sense to preserve your 80GB drives. I had a couple 400GB migrating from my Digital Audio G4 and will use them in this enclosure for TimeMachine on my new Mac Pro.