Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

abirozy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 6, 2008
Hello

I would like some advice on buying the MBA. I have read all the reviews and feel I would like the MBA. I currently have a toshiba 1.6ghz with 2mb of ram but my wife bought a MB earlier and it runs a lot better and more intuitively than my pc. I feel that even if it is a minor difference due to os and a slightly higher speed, I would like it. I am a law student and the specs on the MBA seem like they would fit me fine. I was thinking of the 1.8 with the HHD. This configuration is available online and is A LOT cheaper than the SSD.

1) would this be considered a "first gen" model and as such should I wait for the bugs to get worked out?

2) What is everyones feeling on if mac is quickly going to come out with a more updated MBA with possibly better specs or a lower price?

I.E. Should I buy the mba now or wait 6 months to make sure the bugs get worked out and see if apple ups the specs?

Thanks for helping a newbie

Adam

camarobh

macrumors 6502
Jul 17, 2007
San Diego, CA
There is never a 'right" time to buy technology....if you need it/want it, buy it.

Just be careful....I bought an iMac in the middle of January, followed by an Apple TV, followed by an Airport Extreme, followed by a MBA...soon to be followed by another Apple TV and the 3G iPhone when it comes out. This stuff is addictive! The quality of the engineering in Apple products is amazing.

This all started for me with an iPhone on launch day before it moved into high gear in January. Was a PC guy since I moved from the original Apple II to a PC and then on to windows. Will never go back.

KingYaba

macrumors 68040
Aug 7, 2005
Up the irons