PDA

View Full Version : Will Time Capsule Work Without Internet?




iqwertyi
Feb 7, 2008, 09:25 PM
A couple of quick questions on the time capsule.

My brother is looking to get the Macbook Air along with Time Capsule.
He doesn't have internet in his house.
Will the time capsule still work with the macbook air simply as an external storage to access wirelessly?

I'm thinking yes, but wanted to make sure.

Thank you.



bjett92
Feb 7, 2008, 09:27 PM
I believe it should, you just need an airport connection between the two.

cohibadad
Feb 7, 2008, 09:32 PM
the mac just needs to be on the same network as the Time Capsule. Internet would not be necessary.

iqwertyi
Feb 7, 2008, 09:36 PM
wait... so the Time Capsule is NOT a router as well?
I thought it was because of all those ethernet ports back there.

I'm sorry for the mac newbie question, but what exactly does the airport do?
Is the Airport a router?

CaptainCaveMann
Feb 7, 2008, 09:41 PM
wait... so the Time Capsule is NOT a router as well?
I thought it was because of all those ethernet ports back there.

I'm sorry for the mac newbie question, but what exactly does the airport do?
Is the Airport a router?

Ok now I'm confused, I thought it was a router to.

JML42691
Feb 7, 2008, 09:44 PM
It is a router as well, there is a difference between connecting to the router and connecting to the internet. You can be connecting to the router and not the internet.

iqwertyi
Feb 7, 2008, 10:08 PM
ok, so these two should be able to connect to each other without any other hardware, correct?

JML42691
Feb 7, 2008, 10:36 PM
That is correct.

Nubben
Jun 6, 2008, 08:01 AM
See this thread: http://forums.appleinsider.com/showthread.php?t=87170

LAst post has a link to the instructions at http://www.macminicolo.net/transport/setup.html

Nubben

aussieinrome
Jun 6, 2008, 09:46 AM
Time Capsule does not work with out the internet connected. Unless I did something wrong - it doesn't work. Yesterday an Airport Express arrived at home, I need it to send audio via wireless... but even that doesn't work without internet access (via my Time Capsule).

Please prove me wrong because I need to use the Airport Express and the Time Capsule for time to time when no internet is present...

Consultant
Jun 6, 2008, 09:50 AM
"Time Capsule is also a full-featured 802.11n Wi-Fi base station."
http://www.apple.com/timecapsule/


Time Capsule does not work with out the internet connected. Unless I did something wrong - it doesn't work. Yesterday an Airport Express arrived at home, I need it to send audio via wireless... but even that doesn't work without internet access (via my Time Capsule).

Please prove me wrong because I need to use the Airport Express and the Time Capsule for time to time when no internet is present...

You are wrong. You need to set one of them to be the "internet connection" and the other one to "extend the network".

tdhurst
Jun 6, 2008, 11:02 AM
Time Capsule does not work with out the internet connected. Unless I did something wrong - it doesn't work. Yesterday an Airport Express arrived at home, I need it to send audio via wireless... but even that doesn't work without internet access (via my Time Capsule).

Please prove me wrong because I need to use the Airport Express and the Time Capsule for time to time when no internet is present...

Uh...you're doing something wrong. Both the Time Capsule and Airport Express work just fine without providing internet access. You have to make sure the express is joining the wireless network that the TC has set up, though.

BanjoBanker
Jun 6, 2008, 11:45 AM
Uh...you're doing something wrong. Both the Time Capsule and Airport Express work just fine without providing internet access. You have to make sure the express is joining the wireless network that the TC has set up, though.

The express will work fine without being part of the network with the TC. If all the OP wants the Express for is to stream music, no sweat. However, you are correct if OP wants to use the TC and Express at the same time. :D

tdhurst
Jun 6, 2008, 11:54 AM
The express will work fine without being part of the network with the TC. If all the OP wants the Express for is to stream music, no sweat. However, you are correct if OP wants to use the TC and Express at the same time. :D

You are correct.

It does, however, make more sense to have them all on the same network, but to each their own.

wordy
Jun 6, 2008, 01:36 PM
Good way to sum it up is that TC and AExpress need LAN, but WAN is optional.

aussieinrome
Jun 7, 2008, 08:04 AM
"Time Capsule is also a full-featured 802.11n Wi-Fi base station."
http://www.apple.com/timecapsule/




You are wrong. You need to set one of them to be the "internet connection" and the other one to "extend the network".

How can you set one to be the internet connection with no internet access?

aussieinrome
Jun 7, 2008, 08:06 AM
Uh...you're doing something wrong. Both the Time Capsule and Airport Express work just fine without providing internet access. You have to make sure the express is joining the wireless network that the TC has set up, though.

I couldn't setup a wireless network on the TC without internet connection...

wordy
Jun 7, 2008, 11:46 PM
How can you set one to be the internet connection with no internet access?

What the poster meant was that while each can be set to create their own wireless networks side by side, what you actually want is just to create one network and then have the other device either join or extend that network.

eXan
Jun 8, 2008, 08:41 AM
How can it be so hard? Time Capsule is basically the AirPort Extreme, but with built-in hard drive.

The internet connection is NOT necessary for ANY router. You can use them for just networking with local computers via wi-fi or ethernet - its all your choice.

Its all the same for TC, AirPort Extreme, AirPort Express.

My setup at home looks like this:

APExtreme is connected to the internet and is distributing the access to all wi-fi devices (MacBook, iPod, etc) and to all computers connected to it via Ethernet (iMac, Asus laptop). Its also providing file sharing/LAN gaming capability to all (both wifi and ethernet) computers.

My APExpress is in my living room connected to a home theater receiver for AirTunes. Its not set to extend the network, but set up JUST for AirTunes.

If I disconnect my internet wire from APExtreme, it all works just the same (except for not having access to the internet, obviously). Computers still can share files and use AirTunes.

aussieinrome
Jun 8, 2008, 12:12 PM
How can it be so hard? Time Capsule is basically the AirPort Extreme, but with built-in hard drive.

The internet connection is NOT necessary for ANY router. You can use them for just networking with local computers via wi-fi or ethernet - its all your choice.

Its all the same for TC, AirPort Extreme, AirPort Express.

My setup at home looks like this:

APExtreme is connected to the internet and is distributing the access to all wi-fi devices (MacBook, iPod, etc) and to all computers connected to it via Ethernet (iMac, Asus laptop). Its also providing file sharing/LAN gaming capability to all (both wifi and ethernet) computers.

My APExpress is in my living room connected to a home theater receiver for AirTunes. Its not set to extend the network, but set up JUST for AirTunes.

If I disconnect my internet wire from APExtreme, it all works just the same (except for not having access to the internet, obviously). Computers still can share files and use AirTunes.

Thanks but is anyone willing to do a tutorial?

eXan
Jun 8, 2008, 08:32 PM
Thanks but is anyone willing to do a tutorial?

Ehh why don't people read product manuals if they don't know how to use them?

Nubben
Jul 2, 2008, 07:59 AM
Hi,

I know this thread has been "sleeping" for a while but came across it yesterday when I was looking for a similar set-up looking like this:

1. Use my ISP's wireless router (have to due to firewall/e-mail restrictions) for wirelessly connecting to the Internet; and

2. SIMULTANEOUSLY be hooked up to the TC wirelessly.

I'm planning on using the TC as a drive to store my iTunes library and other stuff. So, when I'm hooked up to the TC (having loaded the iTunes library stored on the TC) I would like at the same time be able to access the Interent through my ISP's wireless router to download songs to the iTunes library.

Can I achieve this?

Thanks.

Nubben

eXan
Jul 2, 2008, 08:03 AM
Hi,

I know this thread has been "sleeping" for a while but came across it yesterday when I was looking for a similar set-up looking like this:

1. Use my ISP's wireless router (have to due to firewall/e-mail restrictions) for wirelessly connecting to the Internet; and

2. SIMULTANEOUSLY be hooked up to the TC wirelessly.

I'm planning on using the TC as a drive to store my iTunes library and other stuff. So, when I'm hooked up to the TC (having loaded the iTunes library stored on the TC) I would like at the same time be able to access the Interent through my ISP's wireless router to download songs to the iTunes library.

Can I achieve this?

Thanks.

Nubben


I have no experience with mixed Apple and non-Appe routers, but I think you can set TC to the "Join wireless network" mode. So it will work just as another client in the existing network.

JML42691
Jul 6, 2008, 07:52 PM
I have no experience with mixed Apple and non-Appe routers, but I think you can set TC to the "Join wireless network" mode. So it will work just as another client in the existing network.
Can anybody confirm this, will it work at a "bounce" for the network signal? Because if so, then it may give me more of an incentive to buy one.

ViperrepiV
Jul 8, 2008, 10:22 AM
it should work, event without an internet connection

tdhurst
Jul 8, 2008, 11:06 AM
it should work, event without an internet connection

It WILL work with an internet connection. Any router will.

spydr
Jul 31, 2008, 12:40 PM
I see that the OP asked if he has no internet connection, and asking if TC can be set up then? And while people are guessing it CAN be, has someone set it up successfully?

I am looking at the same issue, as in our institution, we cannot have wifi access points - the computers are getting the internet through ethernet, but can TC then be set up between two or three wifi enabled computers if TC itself is not plugged into (IT policy won't allow) the network?

theBB
Jul 31, 2008, 02:29 PM
1. Use my ISP's wireless router (have to due to firewall/e-mail restrictions) for wirelessly connecting to the Internet; and

Wireless routers usually have at least one ethernet port. You can disable the wireless part of your ISPs router and just use it as a simple wired one. Then, you can connect your Time Capsule or Airport Base Station to connect to it through its WAN port and set it as your wireless base station. This setup would probably work more smoothly.