PDA

View Full Version : Firewall not working in Panther


PaulP
Oct 23, 2003, 04:13 PM
Just upgraded to 10.3 - everything's working well except for my firewall.

In Jaguar I always used the OS X built in firewall, but now Panther tells me I have other firewall software running so I can't use the Apple firewall until it is turned off!?!

I don't have any other firewall software.

Anyone else getting this? Ideas welcomed!

daveL
Oct 23, 2003, 04:41 PM
No problems here. I did a clean install.

m4rc
Oct 23, 2003, 06:00 PM
Have you got Norton Utilities? I thinnk there is a firewall bundled in with the other apps. It turns on bydefault at start-up.

ericsenf
Oct 23, 2003, 07:26 PM
I had the same probem on my home iMac. To fix this just delete:

Library:Preferences:com.apple.sharing.firewall.plist

Reboot

Everything works!

PaulP
Oct 24, 2003, 12:11 AM
I deleted - Library:Preferences:com.apple.sharing.firewall.plist - and rebooted...

...worked a treat. I'm a happy camper again!

Thanks very much.