Firewall not working in Panther

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by PaulP, Oct 23, 2003.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    #1
    Just upgraded to 10.3 - everything's working well except for my firewall.

    In Jaguar I always used the OS X built in firewall, but now Panther tells me I have other firewall software running so I can't use the Apple firewall until it is turned off!?!

    I don't have any other firewall software.

    Anyone else getting this? Ideas welcomed!
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Have you got Norton Utilities? I thinnk there is a firewall bundled in with the other apps. It turns on bydefault at start-up.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    #4
    Solution!!!

    I had the same probem on my home iMac. To fix this just delete:

    Library:preferences:com.apple.sharing.firewall.plist

    Reboot

    Everything works!
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    #5
    I deleted - Library:preferences:com.apple.sharing.firewall.plist - and rebooted...

    ...worked a treat. I'm a happy camper again!

    Thanks very much.
     

Share This Page