PDA

View Full Version : can't bootup Panther Install CD on my iMac


Ken Reef
Oct 25, 2003, 11:06 AM
After I click the CD "Install Mac OS X" icon, it prompts for administrator password and reboot the machine. However, it just boot up to the old 10.2. I try press the "C" key during restart and it's just the same. I then goto System Preferences->Startup Disk, and notes there is no icon showing bootup from CDROM. I was really frustrated. How can I bootup from CDROM to install the Panther?

snickelfritz
Oct 25, 2003, 11:09 AM
You might need a firmware update.
There's mention of this and a URL in the readme file on disk 1 (IIRC).

Ken Reef
Oct 25, 2003, 11:31 AM
Originally posted by snickelfritz
You might need a firmware update.
There's mention of this and a URL in the readme file on disk 1 (IIRC). :( I don't think so. According to the README, if the firmware is not ready for the installation, it will warn in the installation program. The program goes fine with me except it always boot the harddisk instead of CDROM.

The System perference -> startup disk showed no CDROM icon. Is it the problem?

jameskk
Oct 25, 2003, 11:33 AM
the same happened to me when attempting install on my iBook SE (300MHz).. the problem was that it didn't meet the min. memory requirement. I added more RAM and it worked. You would think that it would at least startup and inform that min. requirements were not met.

Ken Reef
Oct 25, 2003, 11:38 AM
Originally posted by jameskk
the same happened to me when attempting install on my iBook SE (300MHz).. the problem was that it didn't meet the min. memory requirement. I added more RAM and it worked. You would think that it would at least startup and inform that min. requirements were not met. :confused: Mine is iMac G4 800Mhz (Flat panel) with 256M memory and SuperDrive, and should meet the minimum requirement of Panther.

gotohamish
Oct 25, 2003, 12:19 PM
Originally posted by Ken Reef
:confused: Mine is iMac G4 800Mhz (Flat panel) with 256M memory and SuperDrive, and should meet the minimum requirement of Panther.

How are you trying to boot?

Try holding C,

or holding Option (alt) to bring up the blue screen boot selector,

or try macosxhints.com for other forced methods perhaps.

bankshot
Oct 25, 2003, 01:05 PM
Sounds like you have an Open Firmware password set to disable booting from the CD. Check http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=106482 near the bottom for instructions on how to reset it.

MacsRgr8
Oct 25, 2003, 04:15 PM
Does an other Mac boot from that CD?
Maybe there is a problem with the CD itself.

Ken Reef
Oct 25, 2003, 06:35 PM
Originally posted by MacsRgr8
Does an other Mac boot from that CD?
Maybe there is a problem with the CD itself. Yes, it is my fault :D It may have some fingerprint onto the CD. After I cleaned it out, it can boot. Anyway, thanks all the help.