PDA

View Full Version : Windows Workgroup Issue


ihparker
Oct 25, 2003, 11:56 AM
However, when I try to add a printer, my workgroup does not appear. Under Windows Printing, all I get is "Workgroup", not "Parker_Home". I am thinking that it is possible that the underscore may be giving 10.3 a problem, but that would not explain why everything is smooth in Network, but not in Printer Add.

Any thoughts?

daveL
Oct 25, 2003, 03:19 PM
Originally posted by ihparker
However, when I try to add a printer, my workgroup does not appear. Under Windows Printing, all I get is "Workgroup", not "Parker_Home". I am thinking that it is possible that the underscore may be giving 10.3 a problem, but that would not explain why everything is smooth in Network, but not in Printer Add.

Any thoughts?
Go to Applications/Utilities and run Directory Access. Select SMB, then click Configure. Now, enter your workgroup name. Viola!

HTH

ihparker
Oct 25, 2003, 04:25 PM
That did the trick. Nice if Apple would have documented it in the help file.

Now I can see the printer although I still can't print to it with using the Gimp drivers.

mklos
Oct 25, 2003, 07:19 PM
I can add my workgroup name TERABYTE in the Directory Access and it sees TERABYTE when go to add a printer, but my printer doesn't show up.

I've also tried to use SMB printing and that doesn't work either. What would be the correct path for this?

ex. smb://????


I've set the Windows machine (XP Pro) to accept incoming connections to other computers with lpt1.

My iMac is connected to my PC with a 5 port ethernet hub. I can see the computer and get/send files back and forth between the two, but my iMac can't see my parallel printer! (Epson Action Laser 1100)

FYI: The printer works fine on the Windows side.

mklos
Oct 25, 2003, 08:03 PM
I got it!!!

Whew!!! This was a PIDA! :-)

zyuzin4
Oct 25, 2003, 09:35 PM
curious: what did you do to get it to work?