PDA

View Full Version : Panther for all Pro Audio Users


thumper
Oct 26, 2003, 03:54 PM
ok, Logic 6 crashes my computer and forces me to restart.

Protools like my last post, wont play back i dont know why.

toast and jam quit/wont start up.

maybe apple should of warned all audio users NOT to install Panther!

i think i have to reformat into 10.2.8
i need these programs

Macpoops
Oct 26, 2003, 05:15 PM
It's not apple's fault... It's not their job to make sure All third party apps work on the new os....Yes i know they are some pretty popular apps. but it sill is not apple's fault. Every OS has the possibilty to break programs it is the developers job to make sure patches are released

Oirectine
Oct 26, 2003, 06:22 PM
Anybody know if Finale works? Thanks :)

alset
Oct 26, 2003, 06:53 PM
Update to Logic 6.3. Then you can also demo Space Designer for 28 days. Check your Audio/MIDI setup and see that your drivers are properly configured. Get updates from DigiDesign.

Toast works fine for me. Logic loads and plays all my tracks - softsynths and external MIDI synths. Even Reason pulled off without a hitch. I don't have PT, so you're on your own with that.

Good luck.
Dan

tparsons
Oct 26, 2003, 06:57 PM
I had the same problem with 6.3.
You have to reinstall XSkey drivers.
hope it helps...

JohnGillilan
Oct 26, 2003, 07:12 PM
I am currently running 10.2.8, but am reluctant to upgrade to Panther for these same reasons.

Digidesign is claiming a mid-November release for Panther support for PT6.

http://www.digidesign.com/news/details.cfm?story_id=537

Is it worth risking Panther now?? Mid-November seems like a long way off right now, but I suppose I should wait.

Does Reason currently work with Panther?

baby duck monge
Oct 26, 2003, 07:21 PM
there was a thread a few days ago about toast, anyway. are you running the most recent version? if not, update, and it should work (free download)

j33pd0g
Oct 26, 2003, 07:53 PM
Originally posted by Macpoops
It's not apple's fault... It's not their job to make sure All third party apps work on the new os....Yes i know they are some pretty popular apps. but it sill is not apple's fault. Every OS has the possibilty to break programs it is the developers job to make sure patches are released

Actually Apple owns emagic - who make Logic - so I don't know that they are a 3rd party company.

I personally have had no problems with Logic.

Macpoops
Oct 26, 2003, 09:22 PM
I stand corrected...wow...i really thought i would be able to come up with something that would make me look a little less stupid....but no oh well

g30ffr3y
Oct 27, 2003, 12:23 PM
i run reason 2.5 and it works fine, but i am a little miffed about pro tools 6 suport being proposed for mid november... i guess i should investigated before installing, i am too attached to the black cat now to go back... uck... ill just wait it out... lets hope mid november means MID NOVEMBER and not 2004...

howard
Oct 27, 2003, 12:41 PM
anyone use it with digital performer?


jeez i'm surprised logic crashes...seeing as how that is owned by apple