PDA

View Full Version : SummerBoard. Weather Icon Does Not Change


cbrain
Feb 19, 2008, 10:39 AM
Hi,

When using various SummerBoard themes that change the Weather icon, it dosent change?

Is there a way I can fix this?

Thanks in advance.

navysealrb
Feb 19, 2008, 10:44 AM
it depends on the theme.. some of the louie mantia themes have different icons for the weather.

cbrain
Feb 19, 2008, 10:47 AM
it depends on the theme.. some of the louie mantia themes have different icons for the weather.
Hi,

Even though I am using themes with different Weather icons, my weather icon is not changing. The themes I am using definitely have different weather icons.

Thanks for the reply anyway.

Qianlong
Feb 19, 2008, 11:56 AM
I have the same problem (Touch + 1.1.3 JB), weather app 1.1.3 icon doesn't change.

when I had the 1.1.2 JB, the 1.1.2 weather app icon also didn't change. So I had to use the 1.1.1 app and that worked perfectly.

maybe a downgrade to the org 1.1.1 will work?

cbrain
Feb 19, 2008, 02:20 PM
maybe a downgrade to the org 1.1.1 will work?

Thanks, but I would prefer to be at 1.1.3. :)

ntrigue
Feb 19, 2008, 02:37 PM
I've spent some time in the iPhone directory and can't appreciate why the Themes are not writing over this specific icon. I would ensure that under 'Applications' open the Weather.app and ensure it is named the same as the Themes' icon.png

In other words, the Themes may be replacing Weather.png when Apple calls it WeatherWidget.app

They must be the same exact capitalization sensitive.

WifiToggle.app cannot be WiFiToggle.png

dagored
Feb 19, 2008, 03:10 PM
SSH into /Applications/weather.app and copy info.plist to your desktop
convert info.plist with http://140.124.181.188/~khchung/cgi-bin/plutil.cgi from binary to ascii.
open converted info.plist with an editor, such as notepad or text

name original plist as .old

delete the bold lines and your theme icon will load

copy back the new plist.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>CFBundleDevelopmentRegion</key>
<string>English</string>
<key>CFBundleExecutable</key>
<string>Weather</string>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.weather</string>
<key>CFBundleInfoDictionaryVersion</key>
<string>6.0</string>
<key>CFBundlePackageType</key>
<string>APPL</string>
<key>CFBundleSignature</key>
<string>????</string>
<key>CFBundleVersion</key>
<string>1.0</string>
<key>SBIconClass</key>
<string>SBWeatherApplicationIcon</string>
<key>SBUsesNetwork</key>
<integer>3</integer>
</dict>
</plist>

andi030
Feb 19, 2008, 04:18 PM
well my icon didn't changed, to.
But also the Notes and Photos icons used to be the old one. until i edited to the language i am using (but the weather icon still don't work...)
(needed to chang the icon name from notes to Notizen and from Photos to Fotos ) but i am looking also form a solution to nail the Weather icon :D

cbrain
Feb 20, 2008, 03:04 AM
SSH into /Applications/weather.app and copy info.plist to your desktop
convert info.plist with http://140.124.181.188/~khchung/cgi-bin/plutil.cgi from binary to ascii.
open converted info.plist with an editor, such as notepad or text

name original plist as .old

delete the bold lines and your theme icon will load

copy back the new plist.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>CFBundleDevelopmentRegion</key>
<string>English</string>
<key>CFBundleExecutable</key>
<string>Weather</string>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.weather</string>
<key>CFBundleInfoDictionaryVersion</key>
<string>6.0</string>
<key>CFBundlePackageType</key>
<string>APPL</string>
<key>CFBundleSignature</key>
<string>????</string>
<key>CFBundleVersion</key>
<string>1.0</string>
<key>SBIconClass</key>
<string>SBWeatherApplicationIcon</string>
<key>SBUsesNetwork</key>
<integer>3</integer>
</dict>
</plist>

Thank you, that did the trick nicely. :)

well my icon didn't changed, to.
But also the Notes and Photos icons used to be the old one. until i edited to the language i am using (but the weather icon still don't work...)
(needed to chang the icon name from notes to Notizen and from Photos to Fotos ) but i am looking also form a solution to nail the Weather icon :D

Have you tried the steps in the above post?

andi030
Feb 20, 2008, 07:11 AM
na untill not haven't tried but will do it later on... .
hope it'll work :D

xman014
Mar 8, 2008, 05:49 PM
Wow you are the man, thank you sooooooooooooooooooooo much my friend :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

cbrain
Mar 9, 2008, 03:08 AM
I think there's a fix on Installer now.

dcbo89
Mar 9, 2008, 05:00 AM
well even if there is a fix on the installer this helped me and thats all that really matters (to me) so thank you

conor ordan
Jun 28, 2008, 07:43 AM
SSH into /Applications/weather.app and copy info.plist to your desktop
convert info.plist with http://140.124.181.188/~khchung/cgi-bin/plutil.cgi from binary to ascii.
open converted info.plist with an editor, such as notepad or text

name original plist as .old

delete the bold lines and your theme icon will load

copy back the new plist.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>CFBundleDevelopmentRegion</key>
<string>English</string>
<key>CFBundleExecutable</key>
<string>Weather</string>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.apple.weather</string>
<key>CFBundleInfoDictionaryVersion</key>
<string>6.0</string>
<key>CFBundlePackageType</key>
<string>APPL</string>
<key>CFBundleSignature</key>
<string>????</string>
<key>CFBundleVersion</key>
<string>1.0</string>
<key>SBIconClass</key>
<string>SBWeatherApplicationIcon</string>
<key>SBUsesNetwork</key>
<integer>3</integer>
</dict>
</plist>

Worked gor me aswell thanks!!!!!!! easy to do aswell!!

PMB
Jun 28, 2008, 11:56 AM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

installing the fix on installer does the same thing as above

dagored
Jun 28, 2008, 12:13 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

installing the fix on installer does the same thing as above

Not back in February when the question arose.

PMB
Jun 28, 2008, 03:17 PM
Not back in February when the question arose.

ah, now i see how old it is... well, it applies now:D