PDA

View Full Version : Mac Pro + 8800GT + Secondary card?




island
Feb 20, 2008, 11:01 AM
I have the new Mac Pro with 8800GT video for the primary card. Which is my best bet for a secondary card to run an extra monitor for basic parallels and web work?

ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT or GeForce 7300 GT options? If the ATI is a good idea, can it mix with a Nvidia card?



Eidorian
Feb 20, 2008, 11:03 AM
Get the HD 2600 XT as a secondary card. It's a much better performer for the price when compared to the 7300 GT.

network23
Feb 20, 2008, 11:38 AM
Can't the 8800 drive 2 monitors?

m1stake
Feb 20, 2008, 01:11 PM
Two 30 inchers :p

aaronw1986
Feb 20, 2008, 01:26 PM
I may be getting a 8 core with the 8800 soon. Has it been confirmed you can use the 8800GT and the HD2600 xt? I would be using 3+ monitors

faumble
Feb 20, 2008, 01:34 PM
you can use both at the same time, what we dont know is if it will bring any problems (like when you played games with the 7300 and 1900x the third monitor didnt appeared, got solve by apple with an update though:)
Keep us posted pls, I will have the same setup, and sure the 2600 is the way to go.

MikeL
Feb 20, 2008, 01:45 PM
The 7300 GT is a non-starter. It will not work in the 2008 MPs.

Tallest Skil
Feb 20, 2008, 02:33 PM
If you have the money (and aren't using the other power cable), you can even get another 8800 GT and run two at once.

MikeL, unless you've tried it, there are confirmed reports of the 7300 working in the new Mac Pro...

MikeL
Feb 20, 2008, 02:40 PM
MikeL, unless you've tried it, there are confirmed reports of the 7300 working in the new Mac Pro...

I wouldn't say it if I hadn't tried it. Unlike many here, I relate experience rather than conjecture.

The card is recognized only as a VGA video card, and outputs no video. This is with an 8800 GT in the first slot.

Tallest Skil
Feb 20, 2008, 02:47 PM
I wouldn't say it if I hadn't tried it. Unlike many here, I relate experience rather than conjecture.

The card is recognized only as a VGA video card, and outputs no video. This is with an 8800 GT in the first slot.

Huh. Weird. Oh! Maybe the one I'm thinking of only had the 7300 in. That might be different... Well, that sucks for people who want a cheap third-monitor card for their Mac Pro...

island
Feb 20, 2008, 03:14 PM
I may be getting a 8 core with the 8800 soon. Has it been confirmed you can use the 8800GT and the HD2600 xt? I would be using 3+ monitors

Yeah I would love to hear from anyone that has tried to make sure nothing goes wrong.

Don't want a fight club inside my tower! :p

m1stake
Feb 20, 2008, 03:17 PM
Lol, one day you open the case and the GT has a knife on it and the 6 ping molex power connector on the 2600XT is slit :P

faumble
Feb 20, 2008, 04:44 PM
If you have the money (and aren't using the other power cable), you can even get another 8800 GT and run two at once.

Even if you have he money, it wont be wise to buy another 8800, it wont help in performance, you cant do sli, so the only thing it helps with is to add 2 more monitors, thats why the 2600 is the best choice.

KevinAKC
Feb 20, 2008, 04:55 PM
If you fitted a second 8800GT then would that give you SLI capability in Windows via Boot Camp?

Tallest Skil
Feb 20, 2008, 05:01 PM
Even if you have the money, it won't be wise to buy another 8800, it wont help in performance, you cant do sli, so the only thing it helps with is to add 2 more monitors, thats why the 2600 is the best choice.

Can't do it... in OS X. And if the performance was the same on the 2600, there wouldn't have been a month's wait for the 8800 GT. What if, say, I/he want/s to game in 3840x1200? Then one monitor per 8800 GT gives you psuedoSLI performance over two screens.

Half-Life 2: Episode 3, everything maxed, 8xAA 16xOtherThing, 3840x1200.

Thing of beauty.

mrcandy
Feb 20, 2008, 11:01 PM
Yeah I would love to hear from anyone that has tried to make sure nothing goes wrong.

Don't want a fight club inside my tower! :p

I bought my MP with the 2600XT to get earlier delivery, and have recently flashed a PC 8800GT. Both cards work fine together in both OSX and bootcamp with XP SP2. 8800GT is in the bottom slot and 2600XT is in slot 2.

I have only two monitors connected - one on each card.

faumble
Feb 20, 2008, 11:05 PM
I bought my MP with the 2600XT to get earlier delivery, and have recently flashed a PC 8800GT. Both cards work fine together in both OSX and bootcamp with XP SP2. 8800GT is in the bottom slot and 2600XT is in slot 2.

I have only two monitors connected - one on each card.
Thanks! good to know

Tallest Skil
Feb 21, 2008, 05:44 AM
I have only two monitors connected - one on each card.

That's just what I want to do, but with two 8800 GT. Would you say that it'd be possible to have an Apple one and a flashed one coexisting in the same Mac Pro?

darthraige
Feb 21, 2008, 10:18 AM
Say you have both of those cards (2600XT and 8800GT) in the MacPro, would Motion 3 detect which graphics card is faster to render or do you have to set it up to recognize a certain card? Or are we just taking 256 and adding it to the 512 making it a 768 graphics card? Anyone?

darthraige
Mar 18, 2008, 02:46 PM
Say you have both of those cards (2600XT and 8800GT) in the MacPro, would Motion 3 detect which graphics card is faster to render or do you have to set it up to recognize a certain card? Or are we just taking 256 and adding it to the 512 making it a 768 graphics card? And I suppose when you load a game you can tell which card for it to use?