PDA

View Full Version : Fast User Switching and "trust"


yadmonkey
Oct 27, 2003, 12:26 PM
Hi, when you activate fast user switching, it gives you a little note that says you should only activate this if you "trust" the other users on your computer, but it doesn't say why. Well since you need passwords to return to your own user profile, what can the other users do that requires your trust? Is there some security hole that I should know about?

Wes
Oct 27, 2003, 12:32 PM
Originally posted by yadmonkey
Hi, when you activate fast user switching, it gives you a little note that says you should only activate this if you "trust" the other users on your computer, but it doesn't say why. Well since you need passwords to return to your own user profile, what can the other users do that requires your trust? Is there some security hole that I should know about?


I don't need the passwords to go back between the accounts, so I think that's where the trust comes in. Also, if the other person has an administrator password, he can shut down the computer while your work may be left in the other account.

yadmonkey
Oct 27, 2003, 12:34 PM
ahhh.. thanks, Wes. So I guess since I am the only admin on this computer and require passwords for user switching, it is pretty failsafe.

iDean
Oct 27, 2003, 12:44 PM
Presumably, someone on a switched account without administrative rights could crash the system whilst you are AFK, albeit by accident. Again, possible loss of work.

GeeYouEye
Oct 27, 2003, 12:50 PM
Also, presumably, they could use top in the Terminal to find out what you're running, and kill it.

LimeLite
Oct 27, 2003, 01:09 PM
I think there are also certain apps that can't run on multiple accounts at the same time. At least when I tried it, I couldn't have iTunes running on more than one account. Can someone verify this, or was I doing something wrong?

Wes
Oct 27, 2003, 01:47 PM
Originally posted by LimeLite
I think there are also certain apps that can't run on multiple accounts at the same time. At least when I tried it, I couldn't have iTunes running on more than one account. Can someone verify this, or was I doing something wrong?

That is true.

markjones05
Oct 27, 2003, 02:15 PM
How can you make it so passwords are not needed when switching from account to account?

crazzyeddie
Oct 27, 2003, 02:46 PM
I always need a password when switching to/from non-admin accounts... anyway i can disable this?

g30ffr3y
Oct 27, 2003, 03:02 PM
just set the passwords to nothing... meaning a blank field... it works for me...