PDA

View Full Version : Key Caps no longer its own app.


idkew
Oct 27, 2003, 12:43 PM
Well, I was looking for Key Caps and it was nowhere to be found.

It appears Apple moved it to the International tab of System Preferences. Just click on the input menu tab. Then active thekeyboard viewer option.

found it here (http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20031009080237544)

If anyone has the old keycaps .app, and it works in 10.3, PM me please. This is too much work to find a symbol.

Rower_CPU
Oct 27, 2003, 01:12 PM
I don't get how it's any more work than the old one. It's the same exact interface, just moved to a new location. I like having it stuck with the rest of the keyboard related stuff.

Key Caps does still work in Panther. You can dl it from me here:
http://www.organicallydigital.com/stuff/Key_Caps.zip

idkew
Oct 27, 2003, 01:39 PM
i like launching an app, not having and extra menu thinggy to open something i may use once a month.

thanks for the old one.

Rower_CPU
Oct 27, 2003, 01:43 PM
No problem. :)

Counterfit
Oct 27, 2003, 02:10 PM
Uh Rower, I couldn't load a single bit of your site. Not even the front page.

Rower_CPU
Oct 27, 2003, 02:17 PM
What browser/platform are you on?

It's working fine for me, and has on everything I've tested.

Counterfit
Oct 27, 2003, 03:27 PM
Panther/Safari. Probably something about the network here. I can't connect to Macfora.com either...

alset
Oct 27, 2003, 03:35 PM
Originally posted by Rower_CPU

Key Caps does still work in Panther. You can dl it from me here:
http://www.organicallydigital.com/stuff/Key_Caps.zip

Hm - this link seems to have broken. Can you give a new one?

I agree that it's a pain to have a menu widget to get to a window I only need once in a great while. Also, I will miss the text field at the top.

Dan

Rower_CPU
Oct 27, 2003, 03:47 PM
I took it down. It's not something I want to leave up for a long time...distributing copyright materials, etc.

It's up again. Let me know when you've grabbed it.