PDA

View Full Version : will apple tv work with my tv?




.mark.
Feb 22, 2008, 04:40 PM
hey i have the following tv (http://uk.shopping.com/xPF-LE15E31S) in my bedroom and i'm considering an apple tv for it but i'm not sure it would work as it's not got hdmi or component interfaces.

I'm also considering a mini for it instead as that would work via a dvi-vga adapter. one thing holding me back from this is the fact that apple seems to have left front row behind and has improved "take 2". Anyone know/think if front row will be getting a similar update to bring it back inline with apple tv or is apple differentiating apple tv from front row to try and boost atv sales?



virus7
Feb 22, 2008, 04:56 PM
so you just have svideo and/or composite? i don't think things will go so well and definitely not without buying a converter.

i will say you don't need a widescreen hd tv, but you do need at least component inputs.

.mark.
Feb 22, 2008, 05:03 PM
so you just have svideo and/or composite? i don't think things will go so well and definitely not without buying a converter.

i will say you don't need a widescreen hd tv, but you do need at least component inputs.

its got a vga input and that's what I was hoping would work...

Kilamite
Feb 22, 2008, 05:17 PM
Your TV doesn't support HD TV. It has the resolution which can display 720p but doesn't have the required HDMI input or component inputs.

It won't work if you ask me. There might be a way round it, but the quality won't be very good. Apple TV is optimised for widescreen TV's and HD tele's.

I'd invest in a 26" HDTV, they don't cost that much at all these days.

.mark.
Feb 23, 2008, 04:54 AM
Your TV doesn't support HD TV. It has the resolution which can display 720p but doesn't have the required HDMI input or component inputs.

It won't work if you ask me. There might be a way round it, but the quality won't be very good. Apple TV is optimised for widescreen TV's and HD tele's.

I'd invest in a 26" HDTV, they don't cost that much at all these days.

a new tv is something i do want but not now.

would this (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Premium-Component-Cable-3-66M-Black/dp/B000P3Q0YW/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1203763930&sr=8-1) work

anti-microsoft
Feb 23, 2008, 05:05 AM
a new tv is something i do want but not now.

would this (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Premium-Component-Cable-3-66M-Black/dp/B000P3Q0YW/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1203763930&sr=8-1) work

Probably will. Another option would be to purchase a VGA to DVI and another DVI to HDMI

wwooden
Feb 23, 2008, 07:59 AM
Probably will. Another option would be to purchase a VGA to DVI and another DVI to HDMI

Need to switch that bold up. He will need a DVI to VGA, which is much more expensive because it has to convert digital to analog.