PDA

View Full Version : Manually mount an iPod


sahnert
Oct 29, 2003, 02:53 PM
My iPod is flashing "do not disconnect" yet it is not mounted on my dektop or in iTunes. Is there any way to manually mount it?

stcanard
Oct 29, 2003, 03:26 PM
Originally posted by sahnert
My iPod is flashing "do not disconnect" yet it is not mounted on my dektop or in iTunes. Is there any way to manually mount it?

I've had that happen a couple of times (usually when I was playing with it as a firewire drive, and then all the icons disappearaed).

So far I've just held my breath and unplugged it. No problems yet, but I would like to hear a better solution too.

sahnert
Oct 29, 2003, 04:46 PM
I figured out that putting the computer to sleep (closing the lid on my powerbook) signals the ipod to unmount and it is "safe" to disconnect. I have unplugged it when I was not supposed to also, and no problems. But I'd rather not keep doing that. That big circle with a line through it just freaks me out.