PDA

View Full Version : How To Speed Up A MacBook




meyer1131
Mar 8, 2008, 07:59 PM
I am not saying they are slow machines, but what tips or applications or whatnot do you do to keep your macbook running fast and maybe faster than it was before?



Cave Man
Mar 8, 2008, 08:00 PM
I am not saying they are slow machines, but what tips or applications or whatnot do you do to keep your macbook running fast and maybe faster than it was before?

RAM, RAM, RAM. And don't let your HD get beyond 80% capacity.

flopticalcube
Mar 8, 2008, 08:01 PM
RAM, RAM, RAM. And don't let your HD get beyond 80% capacity.
You forgot to mention RAM.

Eidorian
Mar 8, 2008, 08:02 PM
Get rid of the bottlenecks outside of the CPU.



For example, RAM...

McGiord
Mar 8, 2008, 08:02 PM
hop on a bullet train...:D

maximize the RAM and depending on what you are doing if you put a higher speed HDD you could also increase the speed, many people say their experience is "snappier".
________
Gaston Chevrolet history (http://www.chevy-wiki.com/wiki/Gaston_Chevrolet)

Hankster
Mar 8, 2008, 08:10 PM
You could always add RAM. Also, always clean out your cache. The cleaner your machine is the better it will run.

Peteybiz02
Mar 8, 2008, 08:34 PM
You could always add RAM. Also, always clean out your cache. The cleaner your machine is the better it will run.

How do you clean your cache?

meyer1131
Mar 8, 2008, 08:40 PM
yeah and is their any other maintenence things?

juanster
Mar 8, 2008, 08:42 PM
yes keep doing good maintenance to your mac, i use onyx once a week or so, that usually keeps it pretty snappy, max out the Ram too...

aethelbert
Mar 8, 2008, 09:06 PM
Well, one way to get some more ram free is by using few widgets in dashboard. That is sometimes left forgotten.

heatmiser
Mar 8, 2008, 09:09 PM
If you're on a pre-SR Macbook, use Tiger instead of Leopard.

flopticalcube
Mar 8, 2008, 09:15 PM
If you're on a pre-SR Macbook, use Tiger instead of Leopard.
I disagree. I find Leopard snappier on my pre-SR MB.

sculptor
Mar 8, 2008, 09:19 PM
Besides RAM, and that's first. A bigger/newer/faster Hard Drive helps enormously. It can significantly extend the useful life of any computer not just notebooks. Hard drives are the slowest part of any computer.



........Curtis

meyer1131
Mar 8, 2008, 09:19 PM
i downloaded onyx thanks!

iMpathetic
Mar 8, 2008, 09:20 PM
many people say their experience is "snappier".

In Safari, I presume? ;)

skye12
Mar 8, 2008, 09:22 PM
How do you clean your cache?

Well, i use scrubbing bubbles on my keyboard....speeds it up!

John01021988
Mar 8, 2008, 09:22 PM
Safari feels snappier :D

mckyvlle
Mar 8, 2008, 09:52 PM
How do you clean your cache?

MainMenu (http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/25902)! :)

juanster
Mar 8, 2008, 10:50 PM
I disagree. I find Leopard snappier on my pre-SR MB.

so do i, i am running leopard on a pre-SR macbook and i agree at the beginning it dnd t feel as fast as with tiger, but now it's wayyyy faster...

gregdrummeraz
Mar 8, 2008, 10:52 PM
I will say I am twice as fast now...


A) safari only bounces 1 time instead of 2 :eek::eek:


B) Start up speed was the same though. :confused:

Greg:apple:

riscy
Mar 8, 2008, 10:53 PM
I would also recommend MainMenu - very cool app. MainMenu (http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/25902)! :)

johny5
Mar 9, 2008, 03:52 AM
no one seems to have mentioned a faster Hard Drive, so

A faster Hard Drive :)

caktusaurus
Mar 9, 2008, 07:09 AM
Speed holes! :p

No, seriously, more RAM is the way to go - especially when dealing with newer operating systems like Leopard and particularly Vista (hint: use XP instead). These days RAM is incredibly cheap.

Faster harddrive, as mentioned, is another route although not as much "bang for the buck" like RAM. And lastly, make sure you've got enough free space for virtual memory.

There, everything needs a good repeat! ;)

mckyvlle
Mar 9, 2008, 09:29 AM
An obvious tip: Make sure you're not running too many apps at the same time.

For newbies and switchers, closing a window does not always quit the app. Check your Dock to see running lights at the bottom of apps that are running. Ctrl+click (right click) them and choose 'Quit' to exit the app.

PontoEuxino
Mar 11, 2008, 10:11 AM
Got a 2.0GHz Black MacBook. It only had 1G RAM when I bought it, but I always thought it was a pretty snappy machine altogether. Then I installed Leopard and it was running very smoothly so I was happy.

I decided to keep the macbook instead of jumping to another powerbook but Core 2 Duo. I also decided to max-out the RAM. Which I did last week, also a week after Apple had installed a new 100GB hard drive for me.

Anyhow, I think something's just not right. I'm still running Leopard but I cannot really tell if the computer is indeed faster than when it had only 1GB RAM. But man does it take longer to load pages in Safari, if they load at all, and it's so slow too to open some applications. And certainly slower using Mail.

On the other hand, often it seem so much faster. It goes from off-black screen to Leopard wallpaper in seconds--it's truly amazing. But then it takes SO long to load the menu bar!!!!

I Believe my PowerBook is slower after the RAM upgrade. Is this happening around? Any ideas, suggestions?

PontoEuxino

PontoEuxino
Mar 11, 2008, 10:16 AM
And nope.. I'm not running too many applications at the same time. Caches are pretty clean and permissions repaired.

figma
Mar 11, 2008, 12:10 PM
WHat in the world does SR stand for and how can i tell if my Macbook is one?

gkarris
Mar 11, 2008, 12:14 PM
RAM, RAM, RAM. And don't let your HD get beyond 80% capacity.

You forgot to mention RAM.

Get rid of the bottlenecks outside of the CPU.



For example, RAM...

hop on a bullet train...:D

maximize the RAM and depending on what you are doing if you put a higher speed HDD you could also increase the speed, many people say their experience is "snappier".

You could always add RAM. Also, always clean out your cache. The cleaner your machine is the better it will run.

Just in case it wasn't already mentioned:

RAM

:p

freeloader
Mar 11, 2008, 12:24 PM
i've got like 33.71 GB left on my HD and i've used up 77.76. Is that bad???

brandnb
Mar 11, 2008, 12:27 PM
raptor hard drive and RAM

gkarris
Mar 11, 2008, 12:44 PM
i've got like 33.71 GB left on my HD and i've used up 77.76. Is that bad???

Is that a 120?

Rule of thumb - never go below 10% (12 Gigs), optimum, keep it at 20% free (24 Gigs free).

Your sig says 160...

Do you have enough RAM? :p

gnasher729
Mar 11, 2008, 12:50 PM
i've got like 33.71 GB left on my HD and i've used up 77.76. Is that bad???

Not bad yet, but if it fills up much more then I would look at a 320 GB drive. Or 250 GB, if the 320 GB is too much money.

psychofreak
Mar 11, 2008, 12:54 PM
XSlimmer (http://www.xslimmer.com/) will open up some HD space, and increase some apps' speed.

waterskier2007
Mar 11, 2008, 12:56 PM
WHat in the world does SR stand for and how can i tell if my Macbook is one?

SR Stands for Santa Rosa. It refers to the chipset used in the MacBook. As for how to tell, I would like to know too

freeloader
Mar 11, 2008, 01:31 PM
Is that a 120?

Rule of thumb - never go below 10% (12 Gigs), optimum, keep it at 20% free (24 Gigs free).

Your sig says 160...

Do you have enough RAM? :p

hehe.i jus realised that don't add up. I bought the macbook that was 829. This one has the 160 HDD. So how come it says 111.47GB which means its 120 GB? Does that mean i got ripped off??

On the 'about this mac' and 'get more info' where does it tell you how much HDD you have?

gkarris
Mar 11, 2008, 01:48 PM
hehe.i jus realised that don't add up. I bought the macbook that was 829. This one has the 160 HDD. So how come it says 111.47GB which means its 120 GB? Does that mean i got ripped off??

On the 'about this mac' and 'get more info' where does it tell you how much HDD you have?

check your computer info - the drive model's in there, the ATA section.

my 320 says something like 297 MB....

jackiecanev2
Mar 11, 2008, 01:51 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows CE; IEMobile 6.12) Sprint:PPC6800)

formatted hard drive capacities are less than the actual pesented capacity. (example: a 120 hd is often around 112 when formatted, the reason being hd's are done 1000 mb per gb, while the computer reads 1024 mb per gb.)

as for whether a mb is sr or pre-sr, the easiest way to check is to look at yourraphics card. during the last refresh before penryn, sr macbooks were released at 2.0 and 2.2 speeds, with the gma950 being upgraded to the x3100. so if you have an x3100 graphics card, you have the santa rosa chipset.

freeloader
Mar 11, 2008, 02:06 PM
check your computer info - the drive model's in there, the ATA section.

my 320 says something like 297 MB....

I just checked some info out and i just realised the problem. Its definitely 120GB, 1 GB. I feel so angry and upset at myself and PC WORLD! If i knew it was that i would have just bought it from freakin AppleStore! Cos i get 2GB plus the 40 extra HDD at 829, the same price i bought my laptop.

I am so pissed off right now....people are so laughing at me right now of my stupidity :(! I was soooo sure it was the right one too. I want to kick something right now!
I am so gonna do something about this! I bought in November i'm sure i can do something about it...

Thanks for the heads up! Even though i am totally embarrassed...lol

meyer1131
Mar 12, 2008, 09:06 AM
i may stand corrected yet i am pretty sure you can have too much ram. also is it bad if you put non apple ram into a macbook?

UltraNEO*
Mar 12, 2008, 09:17 AM
How about some Go Fast!! stripes? :D

UltraNEO*
Mar 12, 2008, 09:20 AM
i may stand corrected yet i am pretty sure you can have too much ram. also is it bad if you put non apple ram into a macbook?

Technically speaking, Apple doesn't make it's own RAM Modules.
Often they usually use Samsung

- Just because it's not for mainstream PC's doesn't make it more Mac RAM, make sense?

castk942
Dec 25, 2012, 08:53 PM
I reinstalled by operating system (I got the cd with the computer). Then I updated the software.