PDA

View Full Version : Max Ram for G4 PowerBook? Leopard ready?




zeeple
Mar 11, 2008, 11:54 AM
Hi all, thanks to the good users of this forum I have recently gotten my G4 1 GHz Powerbook back up and running. I would like to upgrade it to Leopard but I want to make sure it is not unwise to do so. According to apple.com it already meets (barely) the minimum requirements, but I want to beef up the RAM anyway. So I have two questions:

1. Has anyone here upgraded their G4 pBook to Leopard?
2. What is the max RAM I can install in it?

Thanks!



TEG
Mar 11, 2008, 11:57 AM
A PBG4 1Ghz should run Leopard fine (since even PBG4 400s will run it), just without many of the graphic changes, and you may want to make Time Machine a manual process. As for RAM, I believe the maximum of that level of PBG4 (both Ti and Alu) is 1GB.

TEG

Mord
Mar 11, 2008, 11:57 AM
Depends whether it's an aluminium or titainium powerbook and how big the screen is if it's an al-book.

If it's a tibook it's 1GB if it's a 15/17" albook it's 2GB and if it's a 12" albook it's 1.25GB

Get at least 1GB.

killmoms
Mar 11, 2008, 11:57 AM
Which 1GHz PowerBook G4 is this, specifically? 12"? 15" Titanium? 15" Aluminum? 17"? This will affect the answer.

zeeple
Mar 11, 2008, 12:01 PM
It is a 12" Aluminum 1 GHz PB. According to the specs, it currently has 512 RAM, 256 of which is built in. Which means it must have a 256 MB stick on the slot. If there is a 1 GB max on the RAM, and 256 built in, then buying a i GB stick would not work, correct?

killmoms
Mar 11, 2008, 12:03 PM
No, that model 12" PowerBook supports up to 1.25GB of RAM. You can buy a 1GB stick and put it in the user-accessible slot and be maxed out. Just make sure you get a stick of DDR PC2100 (DDR266) SODIMM, as that's the type of RAM that's compatible with that logic board.

masse
Mar 11, 2008, 12:36 PM
I have a 1.33 ghz model pb G4 and I have 1 gig of ram. I wish I had bought 2.

Runs leopard great but I'm definitely not one to be patient with his computer. But I still love it and it works well for my needs.

zeeple
Mar 11, 2008, 02:56 PM
Right on folks. I bought a gig stick and am sitting prettily at 1.25 gigs now. Also I picked up the Leopard fampack and am installing now. Thanks for all the input.

kapo
Mar 13, 2008, 04:04 PM
I have a PB 1.33 ghz 17" with 1 gb ram should I upgrade it to 1.5 gb before I install the Leopard? or should I make it to 2 gb, also where I can get cheap ram, the lower price I can get is $71 for 1 gb.

leodavinci0
Mar 13, 2008, 04:17 PM
I installed Leopard on my 12" 867 MHz PB with 640 MB RAM last November and it has run it well since. Coverflow loads slow, and spotlight takes a couple seconds to load a query, but otherwise everything works well. I performed a clean install and ran into 2 snags. One, during the installation the Epson printer drivers locked up the installation process, so I had to start over. Two, after it was installed all songs in iTunes made popping noises for, oh, something like 5 hours, then suddenly stopped. After that hair pulling issue all was well.