PDA

View Full Version : alloting Memory


bentoon
Nov 2, 2003, 09:44 PM
in OS9 you could change the memory that any individual program was limited to using or having at it's disposal.
I haven't seen this in X at all and I'm wondering where it's gone or if it's obsolete
Thanks,

revenuee
Nov 2, 2003, 10:03 PM
Originally posted by bentoon
in OS9 you could change the memory that any individual program was limited to using or having at it's disposal.
I haven't seen this in X at all and I'm wondering where it's gone or if it's obsolete
Thanks,

well not the same way it is done in OS 9

certain apps, like photoshop and FCP let you do it from within the software.

other just take it as they need it

i believe there is a way to do it from the terminal, as the case is in other *nix flavors... but not to sure how to go about it

bentoon
Nov 2, 2003, 10:12 PM
Thank You

G5orbust
Nov 2, 2003, 11:43 PM
Well, one of the key features of OSX was smart memory management.

The OS changes the program's memory allotment depending on the size of the app and its level of activity.

manitoubalck
Nov 3, 2003, 01:54 AM
OS 9's manua allotment was a hassel to say the least. I have never incounted a memory alloting program in Windows and don't really see the need. A program just uses what it neeeds and if it needs a little more it can access it without restriction.

revenuee
Nov 3, 2003, 02:02 AM
Originally posted by manitoubalck
OS 9's manua allotment was a hassel to say the least. I have never incounted a memory alloting program in Windows and don't really see the need. A program just uses what it neeeds and if it needs a little more it can access it without restriction.

really?, i didn't mind, felt like i had more control that way, and i like how i could check how much ram what program was using...

i don't like the way process viewer... the OS 9 way seemed cleaner and more organized