PDA

View Full Version : eMac second monitor


petr fajkos
Nov 6, 2003, 08:55 AM
hello,
is it possible to connect to new 1Ghz eMac second monitor and use it as real second monitor to enlarge desktop (not mirror of built-in monitor)?

the best would be connect 21inch screen, set it as main monitor end eMac screen use as secondary... is it possible?

thanks a lot
peter

Laslo Panaflex
Nov 6, 2003, 09:24 AM
Here ya go,

http://www.rutemoeller.com/mp/ibook/ibook_e.html

I did it on my emac and it worked great, The only thing is, the video card then dedicates 16 megs of video ram to each monitor, making things at time seem a little slugish, i.e expose. Let me know how it turns out.

mactastic
Nov 6, 2003, 10:06 AM
Laslo, what model eMac did you do that to? My dad has one, and would love to extend his desktop, but AFAIK it was not possible. I think he has a 700mhz model from a little over a year ago. Is that in the "unsupported" catagory?

petr fajkos
Nov 6, 2003, 10:12 AM
laslo: im just thinkin about buying eMac - this makes me feel that it would be good buy... thanks

mactastic: unfortunately your dads mac seem to be unsupported:
http://www.rutemoeller.com/mp/ibook/supportlist_e.html

Laslo Panaflex
Nov 6, 2003, 05:44 PM
yeah, in order for the hack to work you need to have the radeon card in your machine since the card supports dual monitors. I think that any emac 800mhz or faster it will work on, mine is 800.