PDA

View Full Version : AEBS non gigabit




ault45
Mar 28, 2008, 03:24 PM
I just picked up a AEBS off ebay for $75. In my haste, I didnt look as closely as I usually do to the auction. When I won for that low of a price, I figured something was up. Turns out it is the older non gigabit N base station. My question is, is this a big deal for me? What is the difference? I want to network a usb printer, and a external hard drive. Other than that, all computers will be wireless. Thanks for your help.



flopticalcube
Mar 28, 2008, 03:25 PM
No diff to you. That's a bargain, IMO.

ault45
Mar 28, 2008, 03:28 PM
Sweet. I had a little case of buyers remorse, but after I looked into it, the gigabit only affects computers hard wired. Is that right?

flopticalcube
Mar 28, 2008, 03:30 PM
Sweet. I had a little case of buyers remorse, but after I looked into it, the gigabit only affects computers hard wired. Is that right?

Yes. Although some testes have shown that it affects the throughput of the wireless as well, its marginal. Its a great router with excellent range.

ault45
Mar 28, 2008, 03:33 PM
Cool. Thats all I needed. Thanks.

hotsauce
Mar 28, 2008, 04:10 PM
Yes. Although some testes have shown

hahahaha, I'm sorry. I thought that was pretty funny.

flopticalcube
Mar 28, 2008, 05:58 PM
Clever balls! :)

spacecadet610
Mar 28, 2008, 07:33 PM
yeah that's a great deal!

macleod199
Mar 30, 2008, 04:04 PM
Yes. Although some testes have shown that it affects the throughput of the wireless as well, its marginal. Its a great router with excellent range.

Yeah, exactly. The 'backplane' in the router seems to be limited to 100 Mbps, so you can never get over 100 Mbps on a wireless connection, even though N theoretically supports it. In reality, that would almost never happen anyway.

Anyway, I've got the non-gigabit, and am completely happy. I was particularly happy that I didn't have to live with the buggy 7.2.x firmware like the gigabit folks. Enjoy!