PDA

View Full Version : Adding RAM on Emac to increase Internet speed




Bernarada
Apr 2, 2008, 01:54 AM
Hi everyone

I was wondering. A friend of mine has a Emac 700mhz equipped with a 56k modem. She has an "intermediary" speed internet connection. With that, she can't really view a video - let's say from Youtube. It just keeps hanging.

She only has 256mg of RAM which can be boosted to 1G, and I was wondering if by doing so, it would have a significant impact on her Emac capacity to view such content.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Best regards, B.



juro
Apr 2, 2008, 04:02 AM
More RAM will definitely make the overall computer itself run zippier.

But with regards to the running the internet, man, that modem is what's dragging it down.
Time to go broadband, I would say.

No amount of RAM can make up for internet speed on a modem.

Bernarada
Apr 2, 2008, 10:54 AM
Thanks Juro

Yeah, that occured to me too. Hmmm. . .

If she goes broadband, will the Emac 56k do
or does that needs to be upgraded ? If so, can it be ?

alphaod
Apr 2, 2008, 12:32 PM
Thanks Juro

Yeah, that occured to me too. Hmmm. . .

If she goes broadband, will the Emac 56k do
or does that needs to be upgraded ? If so, can it be ?

She will need ethernet to connect to the broadband router/modem.

Bernarada
Apr 2, 2008, 12:35 PM
Ethernet, right.

Hmm. Does a Emac has that ? If not, can it be upgraded to it ?

ewilson6
Apr 2, 2008, 04:11 PM
all macs have built in ethernet, dial up was lost with the 80's.

Test your internet connection here

http://www.timewarnercable.com/cincinnati/products/internet/speedtest.html


This will tell you your internet speed...Roadrunner broadband for example is 500X faster than dial up

--Eric

Bernarada
Apr 2, 2008, 06:07 PM
Right - I just checked that myself.

Well, thank you all guys. I'll forward the infos to the lady.