Adding RAM on Emac to increase Internet speed

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Bernarada, Apr 1, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    #1
    Hi everyone

    I was wondering. A friend of mine has a Emac 700mhz equipped with a 56k modem. She has an "intermediary" speed internet connection. With that, she can't really view a video - let's say from Youtube. It just keeps hanging.

    She only has 256mg of RAM which can be boosted to 1G, and I was wondering if by doing so, it would have a significant impact on her Emac capacity to view such content.

    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

    Best regards, B.
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #2
    More RAM will definitely make the overall computer itself run zippier.

    But with regards to the running the internet, man, that modem is what's dragging it down.
    Time to go broadband, I would say.

    No amount of RAM can make up for internet speed on a modem.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    #3
    Thanks Juro

    Yeah, that occured to me too. Hmmm. . .

    If she goes broadband, will the Emac 56k do
    or does that needs to be upgraded ? If so, can it be ?
     
  4. macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    上海 (Shanghai)
    #4
    She will need ethernet to connect to the broadband router/modem.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    #5
    Ethernet, right.

    Hmm. Does a Emac has that ? If not, can it be upgraded to it ?
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    #6
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    #7
    Right - I just checked that myself.

    Well, thank you all guys. I'll forward the infos to the lady.
     

Share This Page