PDA

View Full Version : Switcher Question


mattroberts
Nov 8, 2003, 04:09 PM
Hey there!

I just got my brand new PB:)

BUt i'm having a heck of a time transfering my files over from my PC Everytime i copy a folder full of my photos or emails over when i open them on the MAC there's nothing there !?! any idea and what i'm missing?

cheers
Matt

LethalWolfe
Nov 8, 2003, 04:10 PM
Odd. I xfer files between my mac and pc w/o a problem. What format are your pix and e-mail in?

BTW, congrats on yer brand new PB! :)

Lethal

whocares
Nov 8, 2003, 04:11 PM
how are you transferring them?

edesignuk
Nov 8, 2003, 04:14 PM
what format are the PC files you are copying over, what's their file extension?

mattroberts
Nov 8, 2003, 04:20 PM
they are mostly jpegs.

and some vcards....

I'm transferring over the network in my home.....

It hasn't had any trouble with PDF's so i'm semi-sure that its not the networks fault.... but i'm not sure

cheers

edesignuk
Nov 8, 2003, 04:23 PM
once these files are on your mac, do they have proper icons? or just white squares? when you try to open one, what is the error you get?

mattroberts
Nov 8, 2003, 04:34 PM
thats whats strange i get nothing in the folders

And when i go to get information about the folder under size it keeps say calculating size......

any thoughts?

matt

edesignuk
Nov 8, 2003, 04:38 PM
and what happens if you copy a single jpeg for example over, does that work ok?

mattroberts
Nov 8, 2003, 04:45 PM
that works fine...... but its a no go by folder.

cheers

edesignuk
Nov 8, 2003, 04:48 PM
ok, very odd. what way are you copying these files? Conncting to from the PC to the Mac, or the from the Mac to the PC. Whatever way round you are trying at the moment, give it a go the other way round.

unc32
Nov 9, 2003, 08:04 PM
If you can go one at a time then do it that way. Open up the folder you want to transfer and select all. Then move them into a new folder created on the Mac. A little bit of a pain but solves the probelm.