PDA

View Full Version : IP over Firewire 800


swoolf
Nov 14, 2003, 03:29 AM
Hi again -

Yesterday I started a post to discuss the merits and shortcomings of using a gigabit ethernet network for digital video storage.

On a similar note, I read tonight that Firewire 800 supports up to 100 meters of cabling! Amazing.

So here's a question -- getting creative for a moment, is it possible to network multiple computers to each other, or to an external Firewire 800 drive, using IP over firewire? Is that nuts?

I haven't researched hubs or switches that might accomplish this, nor looked at cable prices, but given the amazing cable length supported through FW800, it's an intriguing thought. I imagine that it could be a technical nightmare if things start going wrong.

Love to hear any input on it.

Thanks,

Steve

MisterMe
Nov 14, 2003, 07:44 AM
Originally posted by swoolf
Hi again -

Yesterday I started a post to discuss the merits and shortcomings of using a gigabit ethernet network for digital video storage.

On a similar note, I read tonight that Firewire 800 supports up to 100 meters of cabling! Amazing.

So here's a question -- getting creative for a moment, is it possible to network multiple computers to each other, or to an external Firewire 800 drive, using IP over firewire? Is that nuts?

I haven't researched hubs or switches that might accomplish this, nor looked at cable prices, but given the amazing cable length supported through FW800, it's an intriguing thought. I imagine that it could be a technical nightmare if things start going wrong.

Love to hear any input on it.

Thanks,

Steve Apple developed IP over Firewire. However, I am unaware of a shipping product that uses it.

krhodus
Nov 14, 2003, 08:38 AM
if you are a member of ADC, you can download it off the member site.
Kevin

wrc fan
Nov 14, 2003, 02:48 PM
Originally posted by krhodus
if you are a member of ADC, you can download it off the member site.
Kevin

Or if you have 10.3 it's already installed. If it doesn't show up, choose "Network Port Configurations" from the drop down list, click the "New..." button, and from the Port drop down list choose "Built-in FireWire".

Although I am not sure about FireWire 800 vs. Gigabit, I tested FireWire 400 vs. 100baseTX (using 10.2 and the beta IP over FireWire driver), and 100baseTX was always faster.

yamabushi
Nov 14, 2003, 03:01 PM
Several years ago NEC created a small program that enables IP over Firewire400 under Win98SE.

Nicky G
Nov 15, 2003, 12:08 AM
It's things like integrated firewire networking in 10.3 that you notice left and right that make me wonder what kind of crack folks are smoking who say it's not worth the upgrade price...

Sol
Nov 15, 2003, 12:28 AM
Originally posted by swoolf
I read tonight that Firewire 800 supports up to 100 meters of cabling! Amazing.

I read this too but I have yet to see any FireWire cables with that much lenght. Does anyone know where these supposed 100 m. cables can be purchased?

As for the original question, I think that the only way to share the external FireWire drive is by plugging into a networked computer.

Nicky G
Nov 15, 2003, 10:26 AM
I believe the 100m(?) spec is using optical cable. Seems difficult to find, however. I bet it can be obtained.

iJon
Nov 15, 2003, 10:36 AM
Originally posted by MisterMe
Apple developed IP over Firewire. However, I am unaware of a shipping product that uses it.
apple didnt invent it, they hopped on the bandwagon about 2 years after windows had it.

iJon