PDA

View Full Version : 12" PowerBook RAM upgrade.




Adokimus
Apr 23, 2008, 04:32 PM
I have a 1.5GHz 12" PB, is this RAM the right one?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145068

Any other suggestions on a brand? Ordering tonight...

Thanks!!



Adokimus
Apr 23, 2008, 04:35 PM
Other options:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231141

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820172109

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820141330

I'm just looking for ones with the best reviews. And making sure I have the right specs.

Does it have to be DDR333 or can it be DDR400, like this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145096

CanadaRAM
Apr 23, 2008, 04:39 PM
It's a PC2700 SODIMM you want, correct.

I still think it's worth it to get one that is Mac tested, from a reputable dealer. At least check first to see if you can return it for full refund (no restocking, no shipping charges) if it doesn't work.

Adokimus
Apr 24, 2008, 09:13 AM
It's a PC2700 SODIMM you want, correct.

I still think it's worth it to get one that is Mac tested, from a reputable dealer. At least check first to see if you can return it for full refund (no restocking, no shipping charges) if it doesn't work.

Ok, I am super confused... the Crucial brand RAM has the right specs, but I checked some of the lower reviews and a few were from mac users who said that it was not compatible. One reviewer recommended the Transcend brand, saying that it was the original used in powerbooks. I checked the reviews for that RAM and one person said it caused kernal panics with their 12" PB running leopard.

So, I think I am between g.skill and kingston...

Anyone have experience with either of those two brands?

THANKS!!

Littleodie914
Apr 24, 2008, 09:32 AM
Kingston's very reputable, haven't heard of the other brand though. :)

CanadaRAM
Apr 24, 2008, 11:25 AM
If you go with the Kingston, get the KTA- series RAM.. Don't get the Kingston ValueRAM KVR- series.

Apple has never used Transcend as an OEM. It's fine, generic RAM, just the information that it was used by Apple is wrong.

G.skill is generic RAM, so the same caveats apply -- if it isn't guaranteed compatible by the seller, then you may have to return for refund if it doesn't work. If you are in the US have a look at OWC or Data Memory Systems (http://www.datamemorysystems.com/G4_PowerBook_Memory.asp) ($59) for RAM that is guaranteed correct for your machine.

Adokimus
Apr 24, 2008, 12:30 PM
If you go with the Kingston, get the KTA- series RAM.. Don't get the Kingston ValueRAM KVR- series.

Apple has never used Transcend as an OEM. It's fine, generic RAM, just the information that it was used by Apple is wrong.

G.skill is generic RAM, so the same caveats apply -- if it isn't guaranteed compatible by the seller, then you may have to return for refund if it doesn't work. If you are in the US have a look at OWC or Data Memory Systems (http://www.datamemorysystems.com/G4_PowerBook_Memory.asp) ($59) for RAM that is guaranteed correct for your machine.

Why shouldn't I get the ValueRAM? Now I'm super worried cause I already ordered it.

CanadaRAM
Apr 24, 2008, 12:38 PM
Why shouldn't I get the ValueRAM? Now I'm super worried cause I already ordered it.

There have been numerous cases of ValueRAM being incompatible with G4 and G5 machines. Whether it will work in yours is a toss-up.

Adokimus
Apr 24, 2008, 12:48 PM
There have been numerous cases of ValueRAM being incompatible with G4 and G5 machines. Whether it will work in yours is a toss-up.

Aww poop. Well, since I already ordered it I'm going to wait and try it out. Newegg is pretty good about returns, but I may have to try OWC or that g.skill RAM.

Thanks