Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dragonmantek

macrumors regular
Oct 16, 2007
New York
i just dont think thats possible...

think about it, the internet was created so that there really is no limit, because its created by the people, kinda.

i'm not an internet expert, but since the price of servers are dropping, and storage space is increasing, you could just go out and buy a huge amount of space for really cheap.

and i've read articles somewhere, that some scientists are trying to create internet 2.0, but i dont think that will happen, and it seems ridiculous.

point in case, internet will be here forever.

PlaceofDis

macrumors Core
Jan 6, 2004
the internet is such a dynamic place that claiming these things is a bit ridiculous.

80% of all usage will be video? doubtful unless thats the delivery method for TV by that time, which it won't.

PlaceofDis

macrumors Core
Jan 6, 2004

think about it, the internet was created so that there really is no limit, because its created by the people, kinda.

i'm not an internet expert, but since the price of servers are dropping, and storage space is increasing, you could just go out and buy a huge amount of space for really cheap.

and i've read articles somewhere, that some scientists are trying to create internet 2.0, but i dont think that will happen, and it seems ridiculous.

storage and content aren't an issue. that will be there, and continually growing, yes.

the problem is with the bandwidth and infrastructure in place to deliver that content.

runplaysleeprun

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 27, 2004
Chicago, IL

Storage space I don't think is the problem, I think he's referring to the lines that carry the data across the country/world. These will reach their capacity.

Edit: beat me to it, PlaceofDis

dragonmantek

macrumors regular
Oct 16, 2007
New York