PDA

View Full Version : Network problems




Fatalysm
Apr 29, 2008, 11:52 AM
Network Problems

I run Mac OSX with my airport extreme card.
We have a wireless network with tiscali broadband.

I have about 4 other computers on the network (not all used at the same time obviously )
However they seem to be able to hold the IP address and keep it the same.

My mac however likes to chop and change between my IP, causing no internet!
...Is there anyway at all i can stop it changing so i can stay with the IP i want!



tersono
Apr 29, 2008, 12:00 PM
The IP is assigned by the router - this is not a Mac issue, per se. Your router may have a setting to assign semi-static IPs to the LAN (some do, some don't), or alternatively you can just set your Mac's networking to 'DHCP with a manual address' (in System Prefs/networking). Enter an IP on the correct subnet that is not currently assigned to another piece of hardware, and you'll be in business.

Fatalysm
Apr 29, 2008, 12:04 PM
I tried doing this once, but it ignored me completly.
Is there anything i would have to do after this? Restart? turn off all plugs etc?

DoFoT9
Apr 30, 2008, 02:30 AM
I tried doing this once, but it ignored me completly.
Is there anything i would have to do after this? Restart? turn off all plugs etc?

r you sure that you are setting the correct interface??

if you tell the wireless (normally en1) to go to manually over DHCP it should stay. if it is forgetting it then there is some kind of error and you might need to check for software updates/ get it fixed.

Fatalysm
May 1, 2008, 02:02 AM
Don't worry about it now,
|i tried changing it manually, i then reset all my connections and it works fine

(however sometimes it does lose connection...even though i have a booster like 2ft away?)