PDA

View Full Version : Does the mac mini use the same ram as the macbook pro/macbook?




jjahshik32
Apr 29, 2008, 03:23 PM
What the title asks..



nineteentwelve
Apr 29, 2008, 03:25 PM
Yes it does... DDR2 PC2-5300.

jjahshik32
Apr 29, 2008, 03:27 PM
Thanks.. so if I put in 2x2gb will it still work? I hear that it will come out to 3 GB but will run in dual mode??

nineteentwelve
Apr 29, 2008, 03:31 PM
No. The current revision of the Mac mini only supports 2GB of RAM (2x1GB).

Source: Mac mini (Intel) - Mac Guides (http://guides.macrumors.com/Mac_mini_%28Intel%29#Specifications)

aethelbert
Apr 29, 2008, 03:59 PM
No. The current revision of the Mac mini only supports 2GB of RAM (2x1GB).

Source: Mac mini (Intel) - Mac Guides (http://guides.macrumors.com/Mac_mini_%28Intel%29#Specifications)
No, the chipset in the mini will utilize 3.3GB. You can put in 2x2GB for best performance.

Consultant
Apr 29, 2008, 04:10 PM
No. The current revision of the Mac mini only supports 2GB of RAM (2x1GB).


Actually, current Mini Supports 3gb of Ram
http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/mac_mini/faq_core/mac-mini-intel-ram-upgrade-instructions.html

ADent
Apr 30, 2008, 12:03 PM
CD mini will not boot with 2GB chips.

C2D mini will see the 4GB of RAM and use 3.3GB or so.

gkarris
Apr 30, 2008, 01:21 PM
3.3 for C2D

http://guides.macrumors.com/Understanding_Intel_Mac_RAM#Installing_RAM_for_Intel_Macs