PDA

View Full Version : Back to My Mac, I can't get it to work




jkaz
Jun 4, 2008, 06:35 PM
I've tried numerous times and in all configurations but have yet to see back to my mac work.

is there something basic that i'm missing? is everyone else able to get it to work as expected?

I'm going to look again at the basic tutorial but if someone has a tip list or a link i would very much appreciate it!

thanks!



Moof1904
Jun 4, 2008, 11:20 PM
There's an editorial in the July MacWorld about how Back to My Mac sucks and rarely works and when it does, it's seemingly random.

twoodcc
Jun 4, 2008, 11:34 PM
There's an editorial in the July MacWorld about how Back to My Mac sucks and rarely works and when it does, it's seemingly random.

i've gotten it work before. it seemed to work fine for me

jkaz
Jun 5, 2008, 08:41 AM
somehow, i got it to work from my office to back home. i'm not sure that home back to my office is going to work as none of my office computers are showing up as shared locations on my home computer.

my home computer is connected from wire to router to cable modem.

my office computers are connected wirelessly through an airport.

i have a home computer on wireless airport as well and that computer is not showing up but that computer might be asleep.

is there a wireless setting somewhere i might need to fix that anyone can think of?

thanks!

twoodcc
Jun 5, 2008, 11:14 AM
somehow, i got it to work from my office to back home. i'm not sure that home back to my office is going to work as none of my office computers are showing up as shared locations on my home computer.

my home computer is connected from wire to router to cable modem.

my office computers are connected wirelessly through an airport.

i have a home computer on wireless airport as well and that computer is not showing up but that computer might be asleep.

is there a wireless setting somewhere i might need to fix that anyone can think of?

thanks!

mine has worked over wireless also. i can't think of anything that you need to do for it to work, besides turn it on in system preferences.

if you go into system preferences, under .Mac, and click on Back to my Mac, usually it will say if it's working properly