PDA

View Full Version : Formatting iPod for a Mac




Melrose
Jun 26, 2008, 05:40 PM
I searched, and my effort was fruitless.

I have an iPod that was a gift from my Dad - back when I was using XP. The problem is now I would like to update the software on the iPod but have a Macintosh.

Is there any way available to reformat the iPod so it will work natively on my Mac, allowing the software to be updated as need be?

Many thanks!



MM07
Jun 26, 2008, 05:46 PM
Where is your iTunes library? Do you need anything on the iPod?

I did this with my wife's iPod. It was formatted Windows.

We backed up her library from the PC. I then added that to her iMac. I reformatted the iPod on the Mac.

Synced and we were good to go.

ChrisA
Jun 26, 2008, 06:03 PM
I have an iPod that was a gift from my Dad - back when I was using XP. The problem is now I would like to update the software on the iPod but have a Macintosh.

So what hapens when you plug in the iPod? Does it show up on the source list under devices in iTumes on your Mac? You ask how but don't tell us what is the problem you are having. At what point are you stuck?

Melrose
Jun 26, 2008, 09:11 PM
When I go to the iPod preferences thing in iTunes, it says I cannot update the iPod software because the iPod is formatted for Windows.

I'd like reformat for Mac so I can get updates, if possible.

lamina
Jun 26, 2008, 09:13 PM
Hello friend,

Click restore. You'll lose everything though.

88888888
Jun 26, 2008, 09:22 PM
Ok so here's the situation. I have all my music on my mbp itunes right now.. I already synced those songs to my ipod, however it's still formatted under windows. All i have to do is click "restore" and then resync right? :o

MM07
Jun 26, 2008, 09:24 PM
Ok so here's the situation. I have all my music on my mbp itunes right now.. I already synced those songs to my ipod, however it's still formatted under windows. All i have to do is click "restore" and then resync right? :o

Yes that will work because all of your songs are in your iTunes.

lamina
Jun 26, 2008, 09:41 PM
Yes that will work because all of your songs are in your iTunes.

Seconded.

Melrose
Jun 26, 2008, 10:04 PM
I just did that, following your direction.

I lost all my playlists from my iPod (probably including a few songs, but if I can't name them I won't miss them, right?). Senuti kept crashing, so I just went ahead and clicked Restore.

Working like a charm. I'll be here for another half-hour while it reloads my music and vids, but it seems to be working fine.

Many thanks. I thought Restore would simply put it back to factory settings, not wipe the software. Figures Apple would be so easy!

Many thanks! :) This's been bugging me for some time..