PDA

View Full Version : Mount idisk with xp




docdailey
Jul 11, 2008, 09:31 PM
I have searched around for this but I can't find anything pertaining specifically to mobileme and idisk mounting from xp. With .mac the way I understand it is you had to download the iDisk Utility for Windows XP and then you could mount the idisk. Is it the same for mobileme idisk. If so how do I find that utility?

Bill



richard.mac
Jul 11, 2008, 09:38 PM
i think you just access the iDisk from within your browser.

docdailey
Jul 11, 2008, 09:39 PM
i think you just access the iDisk from within your browser.

I know that is an option but I wanted it to show up as a mounted disk...makes it nice for accessing things.

Bill

richard.mac
Jul 11, 2008, 09:57 PM
i think you just access the iDisk from within your browser.

it appears that this is so http://www.apple.com/mobileme/setup/pc/

tony4d
Jul 11, 2008, 10:07 PM
You can mount it :)

http://www.apple.com/mobileme/tutorials/#idisk-windows

Wait and let the video tutorial load and watch it. It shows vista, but the steps are the same for XP ... the only difference being, in XP once you've opened My Computer Click the "Tools" menu and choose "Map Network Drive" there.

docdailey
Jul 11, 2008, 10:07 PM
it appears that this is so http://www.apple.com/mobileme/setup/pc/

Interesting. I couldn't get it to work because i was using idisk.me.com/username instead of idisk.mac.com/username.

odd that it would still be ".mac"

Either way I got it working...thanks. By the way...it is very very snappy this way...yeeeehawww!

Bill

Rugbysquire
Jul 22, 2008, 09:41 PM
I have followed the information in this thread that look quite straight forward.

But my login and password is rejected and returns with the prompt of

idisk.mac.com/username
I have tried entering the password in again but it still gets rejected.

The only difference I can see is that I have a full stop in my user name for example user.name.

I am also using this on my Macbook Pro using Parallel. I can see my iDisk under OS X but also want to set it up under XP. I can see the iDisk using my Browser in XP and I have set up Mobileme correctly.

Any thoughts?

docdailey
Jul 22, 2008, 09:45 PM
make sure to hit the little thingy in xp that says login using different username when you go to mount it

Rugbysquire
Jul 22, 2008, 11:13 PM
Many thanks. Worked a treat.

wackymacky
Jul 23, 2008, 05:10 PM
The other posibility is to set it up as a newtork dive or newtwork place with the address:

http://idisk.mac.com/username

This acts like a mounted disk.

I did it this way as I can access it by loging in to any PC at work.

If functions much better than using the web to access it.

By the way you can also set up an individual folder in idisk this way.

eg. setup a network place witht the location:

http://idisk.mac.com/username/Public

(this will propmt you for the username public and password if set)

and you will add a folder to your "My Newtork" places that just acts like any other folder in your PC.

eyephone
Jul 23, 2008, 10:24 PM
Guys,

I have followed the steps that apple posted on for mapping the idisk as a network drive, but every time that I restart my computer it disconnects and gives me an error.

I have tried this mounting as http://idisk.mac.com/username and http://idisk.me.com/username, with no luck at restart.

.....and yes, I check the "reconnect at login," and I manually added my username and password under,"login using different name."

Any suggestions? I have tried this on all my windows boxes, with no restart luck.

wackymacky
Jul 23, 2008, 10:49 PM
Any (more) suggestions? I have tried this on all my windows boxes, with no restart luck.

Sorry, I'm primarily a mac person so windows networking isn't my thing.

There are some comments on the Apple help page in iDisk about issues with proxies etc. within LAN environments.

Mine just went fine from go, sorry.

philamac
Jul 23, 2008, 10:59 PM
Guys,

I have followed the steps that apple posted on for mapping the idisk as a network drive, but every time that I restart my computer it disconnects and gives me an error.

I have tried this mounting as http://idisk.mac.com/username and http://idisk.me.com/username, with no luck at restart.

.....and yes, I check the "reconnect at login," and I manually added my username and password under,"login using different name."

Any suggestions? I have tried this on all my windows boxes, with no restart luck.

I get disconnected when I restart too.

wolfpackfan
Jul 24, 2008, 06:52 AM
Thanks guys, for posting this information. I was under the impression that you could only map iDisk files under Vista. I just did it under XP and it is working great. I just backed up a whole bunch files to iDisk. This was one of my main purposes for joining .Me - to get a good offsite backup of my most important files. Being able to map it as a drive, makes copying so much easier.

sushi
Jul 24, 2008, 07:01 AM
Thanks all for the info.

Looks like this may be a great way to share files between Bootcamp and the Mac OS partition, by using MobileMe iDisk like a USB thumb drive.

TLewis
Jul 24, 2008, 08:26 PM
Note that the use of "http" means that all of your information is sent/received unencrypted. This is probably not a big deal if you're doing this from home, but it's a security issue if you access idisk using, for example, a public wifi point.

You need to use "https" to be secure, but winxp doesn't support it, although vista does. (I don't know about OS X, but I assume it does.) XP users can use stunnel to access idisk via https, but it's not simple to configure, and there are issues.

wackymacky
Jul 25, 2008, 04:43 AM
Note that the use of "http" means that all of your information is sent/received unencrypted. This is probably not a big deal if you're doing this from home, but it's a security issue if you access idisk using, for example, a public wifi point.

You need to use "https" to be secure, but winxp doesn't support it, although vista does. (I don't know about OS X, but I assume it does.) XP users can use stunnel to access idisk via https, but it's not simple to configure, and there are issues.

When ever I try to use https I get shifted to http whatever platform I try it on

Diaresi
Jul 25, 2008, 05:18 AM
Apple don't HTTPS the MobileMe web apps, what makes you think they'll HTTPS the iDisk where GBs are being transferred (HTTPS means greater bandwith requirements and server load)?

TLewis
Jul 25, 2008, 10:28 AM
Apple don't HTTPS the MobileMe web apps, what makes you think they'll HTTPS the iDisk where GBs are being transferred (HTTPS means greater bandwith requirements and server load)?
Uh, because it happens to work?

iDisk https works under vista, and it works under xp if you use stunnel (and, yes, I have verified both of these with a lan sniffer). I assume that it can also work under OS X, being OS X, but I don't have a mac, alas.

Yeah, it blows that the web interfaces are insecure, but syncing appears to be secure, and iDisk can be, too.

amartins02
Jul 26, 2008, 03:01 PM
Found this in Apple forums

1. Start -> Run
2. Type "cmd" then hit enter.
3. Copy and paste the following into the command prompt:

net use * \\idisk.mac.com\yourusername * /user:yourusername

replace yourusername with your actual MobileMe user name.

4. It will prompt you for a password, enter it in.
5. Wait about 15-20 seconds, maybe more.
6. It will confirm that your iDisk has been mounted and it will tell you the drive letter.
7. You can now access you iDisk the same way the iDisk Windows XP Utility would.

Rugbysquire
Jul 26, 2008, 08:19 PM
Found this in Apple forums

1. Start -> Run
2. Type "cmd" then hit enter.
3. Copy and paste the following into the command prompt:

net use * \\idisk.mac.com\yourusername * /user:yourusername

replace yourusername with your actual MobileMe user name.

4. It will prompt you for a password, enter it in.
5. Wait about 15-20 seconds, maybe more.
6. It will confirm that your iDisk has been mounted and it will tell you the drive letter.
7. You can now access you iDisk the same way the iDisk Windows XP Utility would.

This works and connects the drive. BUT when I restart the computer (Parallels on an iMac) the drive does not reconnect. It asks for the password again but comes up with the following error

"An error occurred while reconnecting Y: to http:\\idisk.mac.com\username
Web Client Network: The network path has not been found.
This connection has not been restored."

This error has also been happening with the other options used in this thread. Running "net use" shows that the table includes the correct reference for the drive (for reconnection) and the drive is shown in "My Computer" after the reboot but as Disconnected.

Result from "net use" before and after restart
Status Unavailable
Local Y:
Remote \\idisk.mac.com\username
Network Web Client Network

Also tried it with http: before the idisk address. that worked but a restart gave the same result.

wackymacky
Jul 28, 2008, 03:29 AM
This is all very bizzare!

As you can see from my post above I had it working with out any problem (first try!!) with http://idisk.mac.com/username.

Well, turned off my computer for the weekend, then when I came to work today it is no longer working!

Won't mount, won't do a damn thing!

Is it there servers are over-loaded or sominthing. This is my first problem with Mobileme and I am not impressed!

wackymacky
Jul 28, 2008, 04:11 AM
and now it will let me newtork address the public folder, but not the main folder. ummmm!

but now the location is:

"http://public.me.com/username/" that contains all the public folder stuff PLUS a folder called "http://idisk.mac.com/username-Public" that contains another copy of everything

eyephone
Jul 28, 2008, 08:22 PM
I am really surprised that there are only a few of us that are vista/xp users that are interested in mapping our iDisk drives. Someone has got to have had some success with the issue of the drive not reconnecting after a reboot.

d21mike
Jul 28, 2008, 09:28 PM
I am running Vista and I have the same problem. You do not have to re-boot to cause the problem. You can simply logoff and then logon and it will not re-connect.

I was wondering if it has something to do with using special login credentials. Maybe it loses them. I have not tried it but I wonder if your Windows Login/Password was the same as idisk userid/password would it work without having to use the special credentials. Too lazy to try it.

Also, I started using HTTPS and it is working fine (other then the problem with re-connect).

TLewis
Jul 28, 2008, 09:30 PM
Someone has got to have had some success with the issue of the drive not reconnecting after a reboot.
Under vista, I just create a network folder shortcut to "\\idisk.me.com@ssl\myusername" (replace "myusername" with your mobileme login name). Then, to access idisk, I just open the shortcut.

I haven't found a reliable method under XP. (The above might work for XP, sans SSL, but there's no way I'm going to use an insecure disk.)

mastermindxy
Jul 29, 2008, 03:13 AM
Same problem here.

Vista User, and the first time ever I bought an Apple product.

Very disappointed about the problem, that you have to reconnect your map network drive every time after the computer restarts.

@Apple: thank you for solving this problem asap, as there are for sure a lot, a lot of idisk user who use it on a Windows computer.

littlewaywelt
Jul 29, 2008, 09:08 AM
You can mount it :)

http://www.apple.com/mobileme/tutorials/#idisk-windows

Wait and let the video tutorial load and watch it. It shows vista, but the steps are the same for XP ... the only difference being, in XP once you've opened My Computer Click the "Tools" menu and choose "Map Network Drive" there.

Wow! Thanks! I didn't know I could do this.

d21mike
Jul 29, 2008, 09:56 AM
Same problem here.

Vista User, and the first time ever I bought an Apple product.

Very disappointed about the problem, that you have to reconnect your map network drive every time after the computer restarts.

@Apple: thank you for solving this problem asap, as there are for sure a lot, a lot of idisk user who use it on a Windows computer.

I am a die hard Windows user (running Vista now) so don't get me wrong. But, how do you know this is a Apple Problem. To me this could just as easily be a Windows problem. If Windows can setup the connection in the first place how come they can't re-connect after logoff/logon. Are they not saving the correct credentials? As you know you can disconnect and the immediately re-connect. I am leaning towards a Windows Problem. Also, why can't you tell Windows to just try again. Why do you have to disconnect the drive and then do the setup again. To me that makes no since. Also, I have many Mapped Network Drives at my office (without any problems) but I only have this 1 that connects to an Internet Site and with Special Login Credentials. Maybe you do this with other Internet Drives so you may have more experience.

lhinclan
Aug 21, 2008, 12:34 PM
Found this. I hope it can help you.

http://www.mac.com/1/idiskutility_download.html

d21mike
Jan 25, 2009, 04:27 PM
Same problem here.

Vista User, and the first time ever I bought an Apple product.

Very disappointed about the problem, that you have to reconnect your map network drive every time after the computer restarts.

@Apple: thank you for solving this problem asap, as there are for sure a lot, a lot of idisk user who use it on a Windows computer.

Create a BAT File (example: idisk.bat) with the following command and place it in your startup folder. If necessary, secure the bat file with only your user windows logon.

net use i: https://idisk.me.com/userid password /user:userid /persistent:no

Eric S.
Jan 28, 2009, 04:58 PM
I have searched around for this but I can't find anything pertaining specifically to mobileme and idisk mounting from xp. With .mac the way I understand it is you had to download the iDisk Utility for Windows XP and then you could mount the idisk. Is it the same for mobileme idisk. If so how do I find that utility?

Can't you download it from here?

http://www.mac.com/1/idiskutility_download.html

I still use the version I used before with .Mac and it works fine with MobileMe.