PDA

View Full Version : Blu Ray drive.. Sata vs Pata performance hit




ChemiosMurphy
Jul 18, 2008, 11:40 AM
Hi everyone.

I just got an LG Blu Ray Burner and i'm having major issues.

Windowz wont recognize the two hidden Sata ports, so i'm currently looking to buy a Sata to Pata adapter.

So... willl there be a major performance hit with utilizing PATA for Blu ray burning and viewing?

Or should I just buy an external enclosure and just do it over firewire?



pprior
Jul 18, 2008, 03:04 PM
Why would there be any performance hit at all? Optical drives are dirt slow.

FF_productions
Jul 18, 2008, 03:14 PM
External seems like an easier solution, pata is a tad slow but I would assume its faster then external...

Your call.

Spanky Deluxe
Jul 18, 2008, 04:57 PM
Something like this should work in theory: http://www.satacables.com/html/sata_to_ide_adapter.html

Don't worry, you won't lose anything performance wise, optical drives are way way slower than hard drives at data transfer. Even ATA-133 is probably overkill!

pprior
Jul 18, 2008, 09:14 PM
Something like this should work in theory: http://www.satacables.com/html/sata_to_ide_adapter.html

Don't worry, you won't lose anything performance wise, optical drives are way way slower than hard drives at data transfer. Even ATA-133 is probably overkill!

Exactly, "burst rate" speeds that people obsess over between ATA and SATA and beyond have nothing to do with real world use in optical drives.

Even a single hard drive nowdays will not exceed ATA speeds, much less a DVD drive.

ChemiosMurphy
Jul 18, 2008, 11:53 PM
Exactly, "burst rate" speeds that people obsess over between ATA and SATA and beyond have nothing to do with real world use in optical drives.

Even a single hard drive nowdays will not exceed ATA speeds, much less a DVD drive.

Awesome. Thanks for the quick responses everyone. Looks like newegg is getting another $15 out of me for a sata to IDE adapter.

trainguy77
Jul 19, 2008, 01:52 AM
As long as you don't use more then one drive at a time you will be fine.

Lord Zedd
Jul 20, 2008, 07:00 AM
Even two drives will not use up all a PATA pipe.

trainguy77
Jul 20, 2008, 09:05 AM
Even two drives will not use up all a PATA pipe.

Its odd how when i use both my drives i get a large performance hit then. :rolleyes:

EDIT: the reason being is that only one device can do something at a time. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parallel_Advanced_Technology_Attachment#.22One_operation_at_a_time.22

pprior
Jul 20, 2008, 02:16 PM
Its odd how when i use both my drives i get a large performance hit then. :rolleyes:

EDIT: the reason being is that only one device can do something at a time. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parallel_Advanced_Technology_Attachment#.22One_operation_at_a_time.22

How is it that you get a large performance hit when using only optical drives on the ATA chain? We aren't talking about the old days when hard drives were also on the same bus. Are you talking about burning to both drives at once? I supposed that might be possible but I would think for the vast majority of people that's not an issue.

trainguy77
Jul 20, 2008, 03:23 PM
How is it that you get a large performance hit when using only optical drives on the ATA chain? We aren't talking about the old days when hard drives were also on the same bus. Are you talking about burning to both drives at once? I supposed that might be possible but I would think for the vast majority of people that's not an issue.

Ripping music off one drive, burning with the other. Or any combination like that.

darthraige
Jul 21, 2008, 11:34 AM
I just got an LG Blu Ray Burner and i'm having major issues. Windowz wont recognize the two hidden Sata ports, so i'm currently looking to buy a Sata to Pata adapter.

Just curious, did you run the Sata cable like I did? I couldn't find an easier way than what I did...

http://www.galaxyediting.com/viewing/macsata1.jpg

http://www.galaxyediting.com/viewing/macsata2.jpg

http://www.galaxyediting.com/viewing/macsata3.jpg

ChemiosMurphy
Jul 29, 2008, 09:57 PM
Just curious, did you run the Sata cable like I did? I couldn't find an easier way than what I did...

http://www.galaxyediting.com/viewing/macsata1.jpg

http://www.galaxyediting.com/viewing/macsata2.jpg

http://www.galaxyediting.com/viewing/macsata3.jpg

Yup. Windows refuses to recognize the Sata drive, works fine under IDE. I temporarily took apart my external hard drive case and just plugged the drive into that to watch movies in windows while my adapter shipped in windows.

Darthraige, does your Sata setup work in Windows?

Virtuoso
Jul 30, 2008, 05:16 PM
As an alternative, you could get a PCIe SATA card. They are pretty common and cheap for the PC, but finding one which has both Windows and Mac drivers might be a challenge.

ChemiosMurphy
Jul 30, 2008, 06:22 PM
As an alternative, you could get a PCIe SATA card. They are pretty common and cheap for the PC, but finding one which has both Windows and Mac drivers might be a challenge.

Yeah, the IDE adapter is just fine. The only thing that sucks is the SATA port is so far off from the IDE area and the space between the master and slave port is too short to have 2 drives. So the crappy Optiarc that it shipped with is out of commission. And to be honest, that is just fine with me since I have already filled all four HDD slots, I'll just slip in a 5.25 to 3.5 adapter there and call it a day (eventually)