PDA

View Full Version : Can APPLE TV work on a NON-HD TV




jeffmorr
Jul 28, 2008, 03:34 PM
I have a :apple:TV and i want to buy and watch a movie on it, but the video doesn't work, i'm using the MONSTER red-blue-green cables because my TV doesn't support HDMI. I don't need it to be in HD, so if anyone knows a way to plug my :apple:TV into a non-HD tv that would be great



Mindflux
Jul 28, 2008, 03:38 PM
I have a :apple:TV and i want to buy and watch a movie on it, but the video doesn't work, i'm using the MONSTER red-blue-green cables because my TV doesn't support HDMI. I don't need it to be in HD, so if anyone knows a way to plug my :apple:TV into a non-HD tv that would be great

The Composite still technically IS HD. It can transmit 1080p no problem. The issue you are running into is the lack of HDCP (high def content protection) through component (which is not possible).

jeffmorr
Jul 28, 2008, 03:40 PM
so you're saying that my blue-red-green cable won't work or will work, because i spent 100$ on my cables (they have 24-caret gold in them)

dbwie
Jul 28, 2008, 03:47 PM
When I first bought an AppleTV, I had it connected to a Samsung CRT 480i television via component video cables. I recall renting standard def movies and they played without a problem. With this setup, I was using with the original AppleTV software.

I think the latest AppleTV 2.0 software still allows 480i, but I'm not sure. Maybe another user can comment. I have recently switched to an HDTV with HDMI.

northy124
Jul 28, 2008, 03:48 PM
I told you Here (http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=532136) you need a red, green, and blue component inputs in your TV to which you replied But i dont have the red-green-blue component plug on my TV, it's from 2000 so even after you knew it would not work you spent $100 for no reason. I think it is time for a TV upgrade they sell Vizo's in Wal-Mart for $600 (I think not US).

jeffmorr
Jul 28, 2008, 03:55 PM
no, i thought that my new monster cables would work. you see, i usually use my apple tv at my city house, but now i'm at my cottage, at my house i connect by HDMI, but here i dont have a plug for that on my TV, so i need help.

northy124
Jul 28, 2008, 03:57 PM
So even though you knew you did not have the correct inputs you bought anyway:confused::confused::confused:. Well seeing as it won't work I suggest you return the cables.

Mindflux
Jul 28, 2008, 04:05 PM
so you're saying that my blue-red-green cable won't work or will work, because i spent 100$ on my cables (they have 24-caret gold in them)

Sounds like a personal problem. Start by returning those.

jeffmorr
Jul 28, 2008, 04:29 PM
NO, i do have the right inputs, but my Monster cable doesn't work, it plugs into all the inputs fine, but i dont get anything on the screen, i only get the audio. And i can't return it, they told me at the store.

northy124
Jul 28, 2008, 04:31 PM
For ******** make your mind up do you or don't you, I bet the cable does work it is your TV which is made in 2000 that does not have the inputs, What make and model?

jeffmorr
Jul 28, 2008, 04:50 PM
For the last time, my TV has the right inputs, i'm shure. my TV is a Toshiba, and i cant find the model

northy124
Jul 28, 2008, 04:56 PM
OK

Do you have this:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/e/ef/Component_video_jack.jpg

Or the Red, White and Yellow inputs like blow but on a TV:
http://www.miglia.com/products/video/tvmax/pix/TVMax_rear_w700.jpg

davidjearly
Jul 28, 2008, 04:58 PM
I think it is clear that the OP has bought the correct cable in terms of the TV having component input connections and the Apple TV having component output connections. Unless of course, he is getting confused by composite and component connections.

However, as are as I am aware, content bought from iTunes requires HDCP, which I do not think component is capable of decrypting.

This would be my explanation for receiving sound but no video.

Edit: This should be the colour of the connections on your TV if you have component:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/e/ef/Component_video_jack.jpg

Whereas, this is composite where yellow transmits video and red/white transmits audio:
http://akamaipix.crutchfield.com/graphics/infolib/homelib/hCompositeVideoJack.jpg

jeffmorr
Jul 28, 2008, 05:06 PM
northy i have both

northy124
Jul 28, 2008, 05:10 PM
So why did you say But i dont have the red-green-blue component plug on my TV, it's from 2000 :confused::confused::confused:

Anyway then that leaves HDCP the be the cause unless it is Non-HD content? In which case the cables might be faulty and you should return them.

dbwie
Jul 28, 2008, 05:13 PM
Can you watch other video content on the AppleTV, such as video podcasts or YouTube videos through the YouTube menu?

jeffmorr
Jul 28, 2008, 05:23 PM
I was young then, sry

So is it My APPLE TV that has the problem or my cable

jeffmorr
Jul 28, 2008, 05:24 PM
no, i dont get a thing

dbwie
Jul 28, 2008, 05:59 PM
Do you know someone who has an HDTV you can hook the AppleTV up to? It may be your TV. My understanding is that AppleTV can work with newer 480i TVs, but not necessarily all of them, even if they have component connections. It may be your TV. Rule that out first. Test the cable with another device, for example a DVD player. etc....

jeffmorr
Jul 28, 2008, 06:54 PM
You guys, i was just poking around with the cables, and it worked. But then unfortunatly, ten seconds later when it asked me if i would like to restart my device (to get used to the screen) i lost it, i waited for ten minutes, but it's still not working. It's gotta be the video cables because i hear the audio

aross99
Jul 28, 2008, 09:24 PM
There seems to be QUITE a bit of confusion here...

First on Component vs. HDMI. HDCP is not an issue with the Apple TV. Everything you can watch with HDMI you can also watch over Component Video.

If your TV has Component Video (Red/Blue Green) as shown above, and you connect a cable from those jacks on your TV to the same color jacks on your Apple TV - PLUS the Red/White Audio cable (or Digital AUdio cable), you should be able to get a picture.

Since you have used the APple TV with an HDMI connector, I suspect you may have selected a higher resolution (say 1080i or 1080p) that your TV does not support over component video. This might cause you to lose the picture.

Not sure how to get you back to the menu on the TV, so you can select the appropriate resolution.

I don't think the issues is really whether or not you have an HD TV, but whether or not you have component video (or HDMI). There are a number of TV's that are NOT HD that have component video, and I would expect Apple TV to work just fine.

It is doubtful that your $100 (!) cables are the problem. Remember there is nothing special about component video cables. In a pinch you can use ANY RCA-to-RCA cable, just match up the connections from the Apple TV to the TV. This may be more confusing than it is worth, but if you have extra cables (even two extra sets of red/white audio cables), you can rule out your cable connection.

I think the answer may be to get the remote key sequence to reset the vide to the default (480i? 480P?)...

mchalebk
Jul 30, 2008, 11:11 AM
Since you have used the APple TV with an HDMI connector, I suspect you may have selected a higher resolution (say 1080i or 1080p) that your TV does not support over component video. This might cause you to lose the picture.

Not sure how to get you back to the menu on the TV, so you can select the appropriate resolution.

This would be my guess. This is from the ATV manual:

To select a video mode:
1. Press and hold both MENU and + on the Apple Remote for about 6 seconds.
2. Press + or – on the Apple remote to cycle through the display resolutions.
3. When AppleTV reaches an acceptable display resolution and “If you can see the Apple logo, select OK” appears on your TV screen, press play/pause.

So, if you’ve got your ATV set to 1080i and you want to connect it to a 480i TV, you need to change the resolution. If you know ahead of time, I would select the lower resolution from the menu before disconnecting it from the 1080i set so you don’t have to go through the above procedure.

Next advice: return the Monster cables. Monster products are way overpriced.

Lebowski
Jul 30, 2008, 01:02 PM
really? you guys are this confused?

come on.


he has an SD tv with COMPONENT inputs. ATV ONLY SUPPORTS HD. Thus the component cables inputs are useless in this case. Just because it has component in, doesnt mean it will work. (btw, just because a plug FITS doesnt mean its the right one) component, audio and composite ALL fit each other. Does that mean plugging audio into a video jack will work? no.

You are SOL without some hacking or workarounds. it simply wont work. end of story. either get a HDTV or use an ipod with video out cables for the SD set.


the part i like the most, is the reference to your " two homes... my city house, and my cottage..." yet you are too lazy (or stupid) to read the manual, or the required specs on a device before you bought it... and insist its bad cables. (btw, spending 100 bucks on monster cables is a joke).

Alrescha
Jul 30, 2008, 02:30 PM
he has an SD tv with COMPONENT inputs. ATV ONLY SUPPORTS HD. Thus the component cables inputs are useless in this case.

This is simply not true.

The Apple TV outputs video over component. There's no magical 'HD component video'. If he selects a resolution that his television is capable of, it should work. The Apple TV will output most everything from 1080p to 480i. I've plugged the Apple TV green component cable into a Commodore 64 monitor and gotten video @480i.

If the television does not have a widescreen (16x9) mode, then the aspect ratio of the video will be off. The Apple TV does not output video formatted for 4:3 displays.

A.

Lebowski
Jul 30, 2008, 02:33 PM
This is simply not true.

The Apple TV outputs video over component. There's no magical 'HD component video'. If he selects a resolution that his television is capable of, it should work. The Apple TV will output most everything from 1080p to 480i. I've plugged the Apple TV green component cable into a Commodore 64 monitor and gotten video @480i.

If the television does not have a widescreen (16x9) mode, then the aspect ratio of the video will be off. The Apple TV does not output video formatted for 4:3 displays.

A.


thats funny, because i hooked component up to my old sony WEGA SD set and got no video... toggled through all the output settings as well.

Either way.... if the aspect does not match than it really doesnt work i would say. Forcing wide content onto a 4:3 set without proper aspect ratio is not a win in my opinion.

pjgeer
Jul 30, 2008, 02:51 PM
You are a Canadian, if you ever watched Marketplace~Monster Cables (http://www.cbc.ca/marketplace/2008/02/20/packing_the_deal/) you would hopefully have seen their compairsion on inexpensive and high-end monster cables and their results that there isn't enough difference to make the extra money spent worth it.

Pj

northy124
Jul 30, 2008, 03:09 PM
You are a Canadian

That's a dreadful thing to say to someone LoL (It's a joke BTW), Anyway yes Monster does over charge and is not worth it I bought a £15 HDMI cable and it is better than the £75 cable from Monster although the Monster seems to do wonders with the PS3 just not the Blu-Ray player it was bought for it's a piece of expensive crap to be honest.

sandman42
Jul 30, 2008, 03:21 PM
This is simply not true.

I'll second this statement. If there's confusion about anything, it's this. Apple has never said that the :apple:TV only works with HD TV's. What they have said, though it's not entirely true, is that the :apple:TV only works with widescreen TV's. It's right there on :apple:TV spec page (http://www.apple.com/appletv/specs.html):

"Compatible with enhanced-definition or high-definition widescreen TVs capable of 1080p/1080i 60/50Hz, 720p 60/50Hz, 576p 50Hz (PAL format), or 480p 60Hz"

There are widescreen TV's that are ED (480p), but not HD (720p or higher), and there are 4:3 (standard ratio) that are ED-capable and have a widescreen mode, and the :apple:TV will work with them (though reports are that in widescreen mode it doesn't look very good). Even if the TV is ED-capable but doesn't have a widescreen mode you can still connect the :apple:TV, but the image will be formatted for widescreen and will appear distorted.

To the OP: I think you should follow the previous advice about using the remote to cycle through the resolution settings. I also suspect that your :apple:TV is trying to output a resolution that is too high for the TV you're connecting it to. Like others have said, I strongly doubt that the problem is your cables -- they're the simplest thing in the equation, and least likely not to work. I think your problem is just a setting somewhere.

dbwie
Jul 30, 2008, 03:48 PM
I'll second this statement. If there's confusion about anything, it's this. Apple has never said that the :apple:TV only works with HD TV's. What they have said, though it's not entirely true, is that the :apple:TV only works with widescreen TV's. It's right there on :apple:TV spec page (http://www.apple.com/appletv/specs.html):

"Compatible with enhanced-definition or high-definition widescreen TVs capable of 1080p/1080i 60/50Hz, 720p 60/50Hz, 576p 50Hz (PAL format), or 480p 60Hz"

There are widescreen TV's that are ED (480p), but not HD (720p or higher), and there are 4:3 (standard ratio) that are ED-capable and have a widescreen mode, and the :apple:TV will work with them (though reports are that in widescreen mode it doesn't look very good). Even if the TV is ED-capable but doesn't have a widescreen mode you can still connect the :apple:TV, but the image will be formatted for widescreen and will appear distorted.

To the OP: I think you should follow the previous advice about using the remote to cycle through the resolution settings. I also suspect that your :apple:TV is trying to output a resolution that is too high for the TV you're connecting it to. Like others have said, I strongly doubt that the problem is your cables -- they're the simplest thing in the equation, and least likely not to work. I think your problem is just a setting somewhere.

This is correct in my experience. My Samsung CRT had component in and worked in widescreen mode. It did not support any resolutions higher than 480i, and worked fine with my AppleTV.

laokai
Jul 30, 2008, 04:15 PM
just got AppleTV last week and it's working fine with my Sony 27" WEGA. Just make sure to set it to 480i---any other setting will give you screwy-looking lines on the screen.

Chris

aross99
Jul 30, 2008, 06:36 PM
Lebowski, that makes no sense. His TV DOES have a widescreen mode, and combined with the component video cable and a 480x signal, it should work.

I used to have a Sony SD TV that had a wide screen mode and would show DVD's (480i or 480p) via component video in a "special" mode with a full resolution. I'm sure this is the same type of thing on his tv.

As long as your TV acepts the 480x signal via component video, he should be all set. I think he needs to try cycling through the resolutions by using the remote as described above..

(I see now that we several others beat me to this answer.)

mchalebk
Jul 30, 2008, 08:39 PM
really? you guys are this confused?

come on.

he has an SD tv with COMPONENT inputs. ATV ONLY SUPPORTS HD.

Really? Are you this misinformed?

As pointed out by others, the AppleTV will most certainly work with non-HD component equipped TVs. I would recommend educating yourself before taking shots at people who know more than you do.

Lebowski
Jul 30, 2008, 09:03 PM
Really? Are you this misinformed?

As pointed out by others, the AppleTV will most certainly work with non-HD component equipped TVs. I would recommend educating yourself before taking shots at people who know more than you do.

my bad. i dont look at forcing an image to an incorrect aspect ratio as working...

..."people who know more than you do..." LOL. ok guy.

aross99
Jul 30, 2008, 09:19 PM
my bad. i dont look at forcing an image to an incorrect aspect ratio as working...

Since his TV has a widescreen mode, it shouldn't be in the wrong aspect ratio.

sandman42
Jul 30, 2008, 10:05 PM
my bad. i dont look at forcing an image to an incorrect aspect ratio as working...

Since his TV has a widescreen mode, it shouldn't be in the wrong aspect ratio.

And, as stated before, there are TVs that are widescreen and not HD! The :apple:TV will work fine with them. No forcing required.