PDA

View Full Version : got any tips for an OS X newbie?

phreakout13
Jan 7, 2004, 05:32 PM
Hi
I'll have a new computer in a few days and I've never used OS X before. I would really appreciate it if anyone could give me some advice. Thank you.

kettle
Jan 7, 2004, 05:46 PM
Yeeeeeee!!

Thank yer lucky stars you're not having to use windoze fer the first time.

Search this site for any problems you find using OSX and I bet if it's not already dealt with, there will be many many happy Macrumors peeps waiting to make yer day.:)

hulugu
Jan 7, 2004, 06:04 PM
Do you have any specific questions, concerns?

What is your level of experience with regard to computers, ever used Windows or Mac OS before?

What do you want to do with your new machine?

phreakout13
Jan 7, 2004, 07:29 PM
I'm not bad with OS 9 or OS 7.6. I only want to use OS X for my home computer and with my 10g iPod

hulugu
Jan 7, 2004, 10:12 PM
Mail is a great program, especially if you go through the rules under Preferences, and set them up. The Junk filter should be set on training mode first, to make sure its not junking things you would like to see.
Safari is a very good program, the tabs are very useful but they must be engaged using Preferences and you can set up pop-up blocker using Cntrl-K.
The dock is very useful, you can use it to hold all the Applications you consistantly use, but you can store the Applications folder and your Home folder next to the trash when they can easily be accessed.
System preferences is a single Application that runs all the Control Panels and allows you to control things like Network connections, Desktops pictures, etc.
When you get to print, the Print Center Application will appear and will handle all your printing needs.
Appleworks is good, but could be better, if you need Office, get it using the Educational discount, but for many other things there are great freeware/shareware apps out there. I would suggest MacJournal.