PDA

View Full Version : iBook G3 $75




jhawk2
Aug 20, 2008, 09:00 AM
Hey Guys!
I just got an ibook G3 500mhz 128ram for $75 on craigslist. My first mac! It has OS 9.
Tell me what you think. Also where can I get really cheap OS X cd? I dont really care what version.



OrangeSVTguy
Aug 20, 2008, 09:06 AM
Congrats. I bought my very first iBook on here in January for about $180 but it came with a charger/battery/airport card and all the original software. You can find Jaguar or Panther on ebay or in the marketplace(if you can access it) for under $20. Drop a larger HDD, upgrade to 640mb ram and maybe a DVD drive in there and that will run Tiger like a champ.


Just watch out for the dreaded "video card" failure that's plagued about 75% of all ibooks.

jhawk2
Aug 20, 2008, 09:08 AM
Nice!
It came with everything except the airport card.

*Sandy*
Aug 20, 2008, 09:15 AM
Very Nice find!

bpl323
Aug 20, 2008, 02:21 PM
Cool pickup.

joshuaaaron
Aug 20, 2008, 05:09 PM
haha omg i want one!

MacHappytjg
Aug 20, 2008, 08:32 PM
U FINALLY GOT IT!!! GOOD job what os does it have on it? look what i did to my macbook link in sig. nvm it says os 9 but i got a place where u can get jag

If cassie still has it she can tell u


COugh i hope u still have it somewhere

SkyBell
Aug 21, 2008, 01:44 AM
Awesome. Enjoy!:)

MacHappytjg
Aug 21, 2008, 01:48 AM
Awesome. Enjoy!:)

uhm it looks grey to me

revenuee
Aug 21, 2008, 01:57 AM
Now you just need Jaguar ... like somone suggested.

There is a a piece of software call xdefacto or something like that. It will allow you to by pass the hardware check.

I have Tiger running on a G3 Powerbook --- But I took out the hard drive, threw it into a firewire enclosure, installed it on a different PPC machine, and then threw the harddrive back in.

ORRRRR --- get yourself a copy of xubuntu --- i tried ... but my cd rom is fried and after a week of playing around with netboot and HD, ISO partitions, i went the other other root ... but ya ... xubuntu ... I have it running on another machine ...AWESOME... just a thought

MacHappytjg
Aug 21, 2008, 09:49 AM
i have tiger with the 4 cd version but it runs slow with 128 mb of ram i tried with my imac without firewire , but yea jag or panther should be fine until he gets some more ram, assuming it would be easy since he has the 128 built in and an open slot for 512, but yea hes new to macs and wants to use osx as he explained in a different forum which is in his or cassies link cough cough

revenuee
Aug 21, 2008, 10:31 AM
i have tiger with the 4 cd version but it runs slow with 128 mb of ram i tried with my imac without firewire , but yea jag or panther should be fine until he gets some more ram, assuming it would be easy since he has the 128 built in and an open slot for 512, but yea hes new to macs and wants to use osx as he explained in a different forum which is in his or cassies link cough cough

oh it's painfull to run anything my g3 is 333 mhz with 128 running tiger... I just run text edit and a few services, afp, ftp, http, and vine server

isauce
Aug 21, 2008, 10:48 AM
Nice, that is a pretty good fine. Now see if you have install Leopard. :D

MacHappytjg
Aug 21, 2008, 10:56 AM
Nice, that is a pretty good fine. Now see if you have install Leopard. :D

i could do it easilly but he needs mostlikly more than a 10gb hd and 128mb of ram, when he was saying in this OTHER FORUM, sounded as he wanted osx but didnt care what kind, im thinkin he just wants to get away from windows????

revenuee
Aug 21, 2008, 11:06 AM
i could do it easilly but he needs mostlikly more than a 10gb hd and 128mb of ram, when he was saying in this OTHER FORUM, sounded as he wanted osx but didnt care what kind, im thinkin he just wants to get away from windows????

What is the Leopord install size?

Tiger is 2.2 -- IF you don't install printer drivers or languages --- also this does not include iLife

jhawk2
Aug 21, 2008, 11:07 AM
I want OS X becuase I think it could do more than OS 9.
And yes I am finally away from windows!

MacHappytjg
Aug 21, 2008, 01:01 PM
I want OS X becuase I think it could do more than OS 9.
And yes I am finally away from windows!

theres the ansswer, do u have aim or msn?

MacHappytjg
Aug 21, 2008, 01:03 PM
What is the Leopord install size?

Tiger is 2.2 -- IF you don't install printer drivers or languages --- also this does not include iLife

But u dont understand, 128mb of ram leopard needs 512 and still runs sluggish tiger needs 256, he mostlikly doesnt want to spend alot of money. and u can get leopard the loweest i think 5.9gb with out anything like no languages x11 or printer drivers

jhawk2
Aug 21, 2008, 01:57 PM
theres the ansswer, do u have aim or msn?
I have both.

MacHappytjg
Aug 21, 2008, 04:24 PM
I have both.

omg.... give me one of them which ever u go on most., and u dont need xdefacto because u have the right hardware for jag