PDA

View Full Version : Poll: How much memory on your Power Mac?




rafacq
Aug 23, 2008, 03:47 AM
Just wondering what is the average amount of RAM people install in their Power Macs?



macwall
Aug 23, 2008, 03:49 AM
3gb

NJuul
Aug 23, 2008, 04:43 AM
My powermac is getting pretty old, a pm G4 400, AGP, but acting primarily as a file server it still runs quite well. It even runs Tiger. And it holds a 64mb, a 128 mb, a 256 mb and a 512 mb RAM chips, for a total of ~950 MB (it has been slowly upgraded over the years :)). And I still say it is one of the most well-made computers in existence, >8 years old and still going strong.

Hrududu
Aug 23, 2008, 11:55 AM
My dead G5 has 1.5Gb in it, and my faster B&W G3 has 1Gb in it.

Firefly2002
Aug 23, 2008, 03:12 PM
My main machine.... maxed out 768 MB Beige G3..... 512 MB in a 733 MHz QS, and 512 MB interleaved in a PowerMac 9600 :)

monkey86
Aug 23, 2008, 04:29 PM
512 x 4 = 2Gb in my G4 FW800 xD

MultiFinder17
Aug 23, 2008, 10:12 PM
896 megs in my G4/500DP, 768 megs in my G4/400, 96 megs in my 6500/225 :)

Dane D.
Aug 23, 2008, 10:17 PM
1GB on my 1.1GHz PowerPC 750 B/W RevB has 1GB of PC100 RAM.

disconap
Aug 23, 2008, 11:03 PM
6gb on a PPC G5 dual 2.0 ghz. And it runs great. :)

Djmckee
Aug 24, 2008, 04:34 AM
829MB in My G4 I think

Thiol
Aug 25, 2008, 05:55 PM
10 GB on the Mac Pro in my signature, but I have to admit that I rarely use more than ~5 GB at a time...

Lord Zedd
Aug 26, 2008, 09:36 PM
3.5GB in my G5.

rockinrocker
Aug 26, 2008, 09:45 PM
10 GB on the Mac Pro in my signature, but I have to admit that I rarely use more than ~5 GB at a time...

WTF!?!?!?!?!?

A MAC PRO'S NOT A POWER MAC!!!!!
WHAT KIND OF APPLE GEEK ARE YOU?!?!?!?!!???
YOU SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF YOURSELF!!!
YOU'RE NOT DESERVING OF THE APPLE BRAND LIFE STYLE!!!!


(haha, totally kidding, i just had to say something since you were the first one to mention a non powerpc system :D:D;) )

leekohler
Aug 26, 2008, 10:31 PM
5 gigs in my G5, soon to be 8 and then on to 16 eventually.

rafacq
Aug 26, 2008, 11:12 PM
Wow! i am surprised at how many people have 8 or more Gigs or memory! I am just bumping mine from 1.5G to 5.5G, but the comments I have heard, is don't expect miracles in performance improvement! If that is the case, why are so many people putting so much memory on their Macs? Games?

rockinrocker
Aug 26, 2008, 11:19 PM
Wow! i am surprised at how many people have 8 or more Gigs or memory! I am just bumping mine from 1.5G to 5.5G, but the comments I have heard, is don't expect miracles in performance improvement! If that is the case, why are so many people putting so much memory on their Macs? Games?

video/photoshop work lots of times.

i don't think games really use that much RAM typically.

monkey86
Aug 27, 2008, 05:28 AM
4 gig :) all you need for light usage!

zmttoxics
Aug 27, 2008, 05:46 AM
I have 6, but I actually bought 4 of it for my windows box, turned out the motherboard didn't support 4 sticks of OCZ and it was a major issue. So the G5 for got the ram, and I got a new 4 gig kit for windows box.

How much do I use on average of the g5? No more then 2. :p

disconap
Aug 27, 2008, 11:38 PM
To give you an idea, I have 6gb and I usually end up with pageouts after an hour or two. Of course, I work extensively in CS2, ProTools, and Final Cut, sometimes simultaneously, so...

TheReef
Aug 27, 2008, 11:59 PM
3GB, when working most of it is used. Still have four slots free.
Right now I've got 7 programs open, 1 Gig free, but can have as many as 15 open when multi tasking.

rafacq
Aug 28, 2008, 11:14 AM
Which tool is best to check memory usage?

grue
Aug 28, 2008, 11:22 AM
Currently using 2x512MB factory modules and 6x1GB Kingston modules for a total of 7GB.

I'll likely yank it all out and replace with 4x2GB modules just to have room to grow as needed.

TheReef
Aug 28, 2008, 05:11 PM
Which tool is best to check memory usage?

I just use Activity Monitor, found in Applications>Utilities.

gibbz
Aug 28, 2008, 05:13 PM
removed. I am a retard and didn't pay attention to Power Mac. My apologies.

MacHappytjg
Aug 28, 2008, 05:17 PM
My powermac is getting pretty old, a pm G4 400, AGP, but acting primarily as a file server it still runs quite well. It even runs Tiger. And it holds a 64mb, a 128 mb, a 256 mb and a 512 mb RAM chips, for a total of ~950 MB (it has been slowly upgraded over the years :)). And I still say it is one of the most well-made computers in existence, >8 years old and still going strong.

lol i had a imac g3 350mhz no firewire 60gb hd 192mb and tiger, and gave it away to my aunt and its still running stong even runs garage band :o

rafacq
Aug 28, 2008, 11:15 PM
Currently using 2x512MB factory modules and 6x1GB Kingston modules for a total of 8GB.

I'll likely yank it all out and replace with 4x2GB modules just to have room to grow as needed.

Ok... Sounds to me like that would be 7Gb!

jtbell
Aug 29, 2008, 01:20 AM
My 5-year-old 1.25MHz G4 is maxed out at 2GB.

My new Mac Pro has the stock 2GB which I'll probably upgrade after a while, but I'm in no hurry. Gotta pay off my credit card bill for the Mac Pro first. :p

johny5
Aug 29, 2008, 03:27 AM
10gb, would be rude to starve this beast of memory!

I mainly use 2gb assigned to vmware and use imovie and iphoto quite a lot.
browsing and email too :)

jimboza43
Aug 29, 2008, 10:06 AM
Hi,

My M8493 dual 800 Quicksilver came with 1.5GB RAM. That's max. Jimboza43

rockinrocker
Aug 29, 2008, 10:25 AM
Which tool is best to check memory usage?

iStat menus.

bigbird
Aug 29, 2008, 11:47 AM
Pm G4 733 D/a: 1.5 Gb Ram

grue
Aug 29, 2008, 02:42 PM
Ok... Sounds to me like that would be 7Gb!

Whoops, all fixed now :)

monkey86
Aug 30, 2008, 06:17 AM
I mainly use 2gb assigned to vmware and use imovie and iphoto quite a lot.
browsing and email too

10gb for that hahahahah ;)

nice but your using about 1/3rd of it at any time.

johny5
Aug 31, 2008, 12:53 PM
10gb for that hahahahah ;)

nice but your using about 1/3rd of it at any time.

Actually after I have loaded the apps up that I use I have about 800mb free so everything is in ram, there isn't as much disk thrashing and flicking between apps is sweet and quick :)

I do a lot of Imovie stuff too so skimming through HD clips is nice.

I figured the cost of the ram at the time was a pretty good long term investment, so I should be happy for a fair few years.