PDA

View Full Version : iBook Virus?




NorthernNY
Aug 25, 2008, 09:27 AM
My son has an iBookG4. Sophus has detected 7 viruses. I'd name them but we're unable to access further info because (presumably) the viruses have blocked his access to the web. How to proceed?



bartzilla
Aug 25, 2008, 09:30 AM
My son has an iBookG4. Sophus has detected 7 viruses. I'd name them but we're unable to access further info because (presumably) the viruses have blocked his access to the web. How to proceed?

Update Sophos - it's almost certainly a false alarm.
Use another Virus scanner
List the names of the viruses so we can tell you why they aren't a problem.

crees!
Aug 25, 2008, 09:33 AM
gotta love those Windows viruses.

richard.mac
Aug 25, 2008, 09:35 AM
ask if hes been downloading and installing codecs. there has been one that is actually a trojan but its no biggie and can be removed using these (http://www.macworld.com/article/60823/2007/10/trojanhorse.html) directions. otherwise theyre probably just windows viruses… do they start with "win" or contain ".exe"?

NorthernNY
Aug 25, 2008, 10:47 AM
We can't update Sophus or download another scanner because he has no access to the web. Also, we can't name the viruses because Sophus requires that you log into their website for "naming." Is there a way to do any of this via my computer?

Tallest Skil
Aug 25, 2008, 10:52 AM
We can't update Sophus or download another scanner because he has no access to the web. Also, we can't name the viruses because Sophus requires that you log into their website for "naming." Is there a way to do any of this via my computer?

Yep. Drag Sophus to the Trash and empty it. No more worries.

bartzilla
Aug 25, 2008, 12:04 PM
We can't update Sophus or download another scanner because he has no access to the web. Also, we can't name the viruses because Sophus requires that you log into their website for "naming." Is there a way to do any of this via my computer?

Download the mac version of Clam AV on your machine (grab the updates too) and then install it onto the other computer. It's highly unlikely that the problems with the net access are related to malware, but without knowing what the malware is, it's hard to move on.

Check that no proxies have been defined in the network part of system preferences, and that the network address settings all look reasonable.

NorthernNY
Aug 25, 2008, 04:57 PM
Thanks very much for that advice (and for reading what I had written). This going to do the trick, I think!