PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade to Gigabit Network




Philgr
Sep 7, 2008, 05:29 AM
Im currently running my hone network on a standard network, but i realised i have several bits of kit that are gigabit compatible eg, AEBS, Imac, PS3

My router does not have a gigabit port same as my network switch in the loft.

if i upgraded the router and my network switch would i see the benefits, eg, faster surfing, file TX etc..

if so its a trip to PC world today :)



costabunny
Sep 7, 2008, 05:49 AM
Unless your Internet connection is greater than 100Mb you'll see no increase in surfing or web stuff.

You would benefit if you copy large amounts from one computer to another.

it depends how important file copying across computers is to you.

mpshay
Sep 7, 2008, 02:03 PM
Agree. Not much chance that you internet connection is anywhere close to maxing out your 100MB network. However, if you want faster transfers between computers one option is to just get a gigbit switch. Run all you gigabit devices from the switch and then connect the switch to router. Gigabit internal network for less than $50!

Philgr
Sep 7, 2008, 03:10 PM
Well i made the trip today and picked up a Gigabit switch for 35 and a new Router.

I have not seen an increase in internet speeds but my PS3 & media server is deff a bit better and a nice surprise was the realization that my NAS drive has a gigabit connection, i did a test tx and it deff zips along

not a bad upgrade

Phil G

-hh
Sep 16, 2008, 06:01 AM
FWIW, I did essentially the same upgrade ~6 months ago.

And FYI for anyone considering doing something similar, here's a network map that I recently put together...the old "picture is worth 1000 words":

http://www.huntzinger.com/photo/2008/network-2008.gif


-hh

Consultant
Sep 16, 2008, 04:05 PM
Most of the recent cables are Cat 5e, but you need cat 5e or better to achieve better gigabit ethernet speeds.

Also, unless you have the latest fast harddrive, you need RAID to saturate the gigabit ethernet speed.

Philgr
Sep 16, 2008, 04:16 PM
uncanny :)

i just done this of my network

http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c141/philgr/NetworkDiagram.jpg

its only when you put it down like this you realise how much kit you have :)