PDA

View Full Version : Need G4 (Gigabit Ethernet) Dual 500MHz with 23" Cinema Display




lokos1998
Sep 16, 2008, 01:26 PM
I'm a PC guy (unfortunately), and I wanted to get my wife (graphic designer) a Mac present for our 3 year wedding anniversary (maybe a bad choice).

As a cheep axx i looked on eBay for best deals... and happen to stumble
upon an old G4 (Gigabit Ethernet) Dual 500MHz tower (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&item=250292424555).

I understand that is a old model, but the budget constrains gave me a no better choice... $300-400. For the first Apple it is a start.
To make it up i got her a 23" Cinema Display (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&item=180289255418).

My dilemma as you see is the old vs new technology.
I have not yet received the merchandise, but as i read I'm up for a surprise.
1. Do i need a power adapter for the display?
2. Do i need a ADC converter (or something like it)?
3. What (cheep) Graphic card will be a plausible fit to avoid conversions?
4. Will that card work with my motherboard (if there is one inside lol)

Do you have better recomendations? :confused:

So far browsing i got:
Recomendations
RADEON 9800 Series

Requirements:
Power Mac G4 (http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore.woa/wo/StoreReentry.wo?family=AppleDisplays) or G5 with NVIDIA graphics card or ATI Radeon 7500 or better graphics card

Limitations: (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1825)
6. The Power Mac G4 Cube computer must have a Nvidia Geforce 2MX graphics card to be compatible with the Apple Cinema Display HD or Apple Cinema Display (20-inch).
The Power Mac G4 - (Gigabit Ethernet) video card does not support the Apple Cinema Display HD or Apple Cinema Display (20-inch) unless the original video card is updated to one that meets the specification for the display.

Thanks for your help...



4JNA
Sep 16, 2008, 03:02 PM
sweet deal on the display! about par for the g4. you might want to wait and find out what is in the g4 first, but it's likely an older GeForce 2 32mb or equivalent which is no good for that sweet monitor.


My dilemma as you see is the old vs new technology.
I have not yet received the merchandise, but as i read I'm up for a surprise.
1. Do i need a power adapter for the display?
2. Do i need a ADC converter (or something like it)?
3. What (cheep) Graphic card will be a plausible fit to avoid conversions?
4. Will that card work with my motherboard (if there is one inside lol)

Do you have better recomendations? :confused:


1. no power adapter required, as it gets power through the ADC cable which is why you need a video card with the ADC port or the crazy expensive adapter.
2. as above, an adapter only if you go with a video card without the ADC port.
3. recommendations below.
4. see # 3.

the 9800 is out as it does not have the ADC connector on the card (only vga/dvi) and you would need to drop another 75-100 bucks on the adapter.

i would look at the 9000 64mb card, like This (http://cgi.ebay.com/ATI-Radeon-9000-64MB-ADC-DVI-AGP-Video-Card-109-99700_W0QQitemZ120304118230QQihZ002QQcategoryZ3762QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)

or the GeForce 4 64mb card, like This (http://cgi.ebay.com/Apple-Nvidia-Geforce4-MX-64MB-AGP-Video-Card-ADC-VGA-G4_W0QQitemZ160283478233QQihZ006QQcategoryZ25449QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem)

advantage of these two cards is that they would plug right in, no taping/flashing/mods required which should make things a bit easier.

these are not my auctions, i don't know or recommend these sellers, just listing examples. best of luck.

lokos1998
Sep 16, 2008, 03:06 PM
Thanks for the quick response...

Funny thing is I already had you on my watch list on the second item. :D

I think you got your self's a deal :)

lokos1998
Sep 20, 2008, 01:55 PM
Well the package came in...

The was a ATI Rage pro 128 Card was installed, with ADC/VGA connector.
On the first Run using the ADC and the 23" screen...
- Apple logo in the middle
- Static all around
- Spinning wheel, progres bar was turnin
- Display tuned off after about 3-4 minutes

Using my 19" PC LCD screed with VGA port, Mac worked fine...
Loaded into GUI, 10.2 OS X

Is is a matter now of graphic card driver issue, or minimum requirements
for the 23" screen? Or possibly a bad screen? Or power supply?

cal6n
Sep 20, 2008, 02:12 PM
I'm afraid it's down to the 23" ACD's requirements. The card you've got will run the 22" model but not the 23".

lokos1998
Sep 21, 2008, 09:05 AM
which one of these will run a 23" display, and not cost arm and leg?

ATI Mac Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB AGP Video 109-A14400-01
300

nVidia GeForce 6800 256MB Ultra DDL for mac
300

nVidia GeForce 4 Ti4600 128 megs Fast on G4 or G5
65

ATI Radeon 9000 64MB (ADC/DVI) AGP Video Card 109-99700
$47

nVidia Geforce4 MX 64MB AGP Video Card ADC/VGA G4
42 Mac Guy

nVidia Apple NV-11 64MB Video Card 630-3534
50

NEW ATI RADEON 7500 32MB AGP ADC VGA MAC EDITION 10476

50
nVidia GeForce2 MX 32MB VGA ADC VIDEO CARD

ATI Rage 128 Pro 16MB (VGA/ADC) (AGP ...
$20

Spock
Sep 21, 2008, 09:16 AM
All this money your dropping down you could have a first gen. Core Duo Mac Mini or Core Duo iMac. And you will be able to run 10.5 and 10.6

lokos1998
Sep 21, 2008, 01:14 PM
Just a personal preference, and choice to have a bigger screen...
and in process sacrificing speed. I think i will go with 42" plasma, instead
of 23" cinema display LOL.

J3tHr0
Sep 29, 2008, 07:45 PM
Hi you all!
Hope can solve a quest... (and excuse my english) :p

I have an old G4 with ati rage 128pro (630-2906) and recently bought a 20'' cinema display.
It seems to be not compatible, but I read on many 3ds that should be... or not?

The card seems to have a dvi-d dual link connector and the display a single link... :confused:

Do someone can explain wich is the matter? Can be some malfunction?

Thanks a lot! :)

Shownarou
Sep 29, 2008, 07:58 PM
Hi you all!
Hope can solve a quest... (and excuse my english) :p

I have an old G4 with ati rage 128pro (630-2906) and recently bought a 20'' cinema display.
It seems to be not compatible, but I read on many 3ds that should be... or not?

The card seems to have a dvi-d dual link connector and the display a single link... :confused:

Do someone can explain wich is the matter? Can be some malfunction?

Thanks a lot! :)

I don't believe the ATI Rage Pro supports the resolution for the 20" ACD.

*edit* The card supports the resolution, but will not support the new ACD's.
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1825 Check the link.

dual64bit
Sep 29, 2008, 08:00 PM
I don't believe the ATI Rage Pro supports the resolution for the 20" ACD.

THe ATI Rage 630-2906 had DVI and VGA, a cinema display with ADC will require the ~ $100 adapter.

J3tHr0
Sep 30, 2008, 05:13 PM
THe ATI Rage 630-2906 had DVI and VGA, a cinema display with ADC will require the ~ $100 adapter.

But my Cinema Display (there is this writing on the back) has a DVI-D single link (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/fb/DVI_Connector_Types.svg) connector...! :confused:
I tried to connect it to the rage pro but the screen goes black after a while...
Am I confusing something? :o

Thanx!

J3tHr0
Oct 6, 2008, 06:54 PM
No one? :(