PDA

View Full Version : Protools 8

Drumjim85
Oct 3, 2008, 12:35 PM
Well Protools 8 just got announced at AES. And it seems to be a really big update.

check it out. (http://digidesign.com/index.cfm?langid=100&navid=399&ref=pt8-hpf)

xparaparafreakx
Oct 3, 2008, 02:53 PM
Catching up to Logic I see.

junior
Oct 3, 2008, 03:14 PM
Catching up to Logic I see.

:rolleyes:

Loge
Oct 3, 2008, 03:39 PM
Looks like they've improved the Sibelius integration in the score editor (not surprising I guess given the ownership), so you can now export a Sibelius score instead of a midi file.

I should say I don't use Pro Tools :p, but I use Sibelius every day and so I'm interested in how this works out in practice.

joe.cavers
Oct 6, 2008, 03:18 AM
I'm a Pro Tools user and this has me extremely excited. The new MIDI additions are exactly the kinda thing I need for Uni. Very very excited about this update.

JC

Mr Skills
Oct 6, 2008, 06:49 PM
:rolleyes:

As a heavy user of both Logic and Pro Tools I think they can both do with catching up to eachother in different ways.

cschreppel
Oct 6, 2008, 07:37 PM
I'm pretty excited for the doubling of inserts per track, increased track counts, etc. But mostly, I'm really happy with the new UI. Definitely going to make the long sessions a little easier on the eyes.

I was watching an interview with a PT8 product manager and he's been very vocal about Auto-Delay Compensation coming for LE eventually. I'm not holding my breath, but I'm glad to see that Digi is finally opening up a bit to its end users.

zimv20
Oct 6, 2008, 10:45 PM
I was watching an interview with a PT8 product manager and he's been very vocal about Auto-Delay Compensation coming for LE eventually.

was it this video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyvQx_Viwuc)?

cschreppel
Oct 7, 2008, 10:46 AM
was it this video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyvQx_Viwuc)?

Yes.

UgLy KoeRner
Oct 19, 2008, 09:23 AM