PDA

View Full Version : Java 1.4.2 Released


MacRumors
Feb 2, 2004, 03:50 PM
Apple released Java 1.4.2 today:

In addition to providing support for Sun's Java 1.4.2 APIs, this release includes enhancements to drawing performance and stability for both Java applications and Java applets.

Note : This installer will replace your current installation of Java 1.4.1.

For more details on this update, please visit: thtp://www.apple.com/java/ (http://www.apple.com/java/)

BillClinton
Feb 2, 2004, 03:55 PM
I'll Wait for everyone else to install before I commit to the leap

MasterMac
Feb 2, 2004, 04:04 PM
Originally posted by BillClinton
I'll Wait for everyone else to install before I commit to the leap
No problems for me... yet :p

Thank god for backups though :cool:

PGant
Feb 2, 2004, 04:23 PM
So far so good for me. I'm testing S1.2 on a forms page right now...

bousozoku
Feb 2, 2004, 04:26 PM
Seems smoother for me. Java applications seem to start quite a bit more quickly. I'm interested in some of the JVM performance after it's been running quite a while.

iJed
Feb 2, 2004, 04:39 PM
Nice to see Apple get up-to-date with Java again. Hopefully when Sun release Java 1.5 it won't take Apple as long to catch up as it did for 1.4. I'm really looking forward to some of the new language features in 1.5.

pianojoe
Feb 2, 2004, 04:50 PM
ThinkFree Office is broken on one of my machines. Maybe this helps.

celaurie
Feb 2, 2004, 05:06 PM
Smooth as a baby's bum...

Internet Banking here we come! :)

bousozoku
Feb 2, 2004, 05:17 PM
Originally posted by pianojoe
ThinkFree Office is broken on one of my machines. Maybe this helps.

My ThinkFree Write hasn't worked since Panther but everything else is still working and started more quickly.

Spyky
Feb 2, 2004, 05:20 PM
This update hammered the Java documentation. Now 1.4.1 J2SE documents are missing entirely and there is no 1.4.2 to replace them.

Argh

-Spyky

EDIT: found the "developer" version on ADC which includes all the documentation. <rant>It would have been nice if software update could have figured out that I had the documentation installed, so it should install again, instead of randomly overwriting the old docs. Or at least pop up a dialog so I could have selected.</rant>

john123
Feb 2, 2004, 05:53 PM
Breaks acqlite, which when you start up asks for Java 1.4.1 and doesn't realize you have a later version installed.

Stella
Feb 2, 2004, 05:54 PM
Looks like a good update.

Torque now generates code when there are > 40 tables in your schema without throwing exceptions.

torque wouldn't work with Java 1.3 and 1.4.x until now! :->

dabeatles
Feb 2, 2004, 05:54 PM
JBoss 1.0.1 also appeared when I ran it on Server 10.3.2. It updates JBoss to function with Java 1.4.2. So far, it's running with no problems...

pgh
Feb 2, 2004, 07:43 PM
For those of us who installed JBoss via the Developer CD , you can fix it to work with Java 1.4.2 by editing:
/Library/JBoss/3.2/bin/run.conf

Alter the JAVA environment variable to:
JAVA=/System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/1.4.2/Home/bin/java

cplim
Feb 2, 2004, 07:51 PM
Does anyone know if Eclipse v3.0 M5/M6 still works with this update? I've updated the JavaVM to v1.4.2 on my Windows box (I know, I know ;), and Eclipse hasn't worked properly since. Bit hesitant to update and break my development environment at the moment. Any feedback will be most welcome! :)

geerlingguy
Feb 2, 2004, 08:08 PM
I've noticed a lot of internet applets working MUCH better (and MUCH faster :D ) after this update. Good job Apple!

cng3
Feb 2, 2004, 08:10 PM
I tried playing the java hearts game at games.yahoo.com but the text is illegible. anyone else with this problem?

gregorypierce
Feb 2, 2004, 09:49 PM
There are a variety of assorted bugs that made it into the update unfortunately. Maybe there will be a service release that will fix them up. This puppy was not 100% ready for prime time.

Nermal
Feb 3, 2004, 04:22 AM
Originally posted by cng3
I tried playing the java hearts game at games.yahoo.com but the text is illegible. anyone else with this problem?

Just tried it, same problem.

Curmudgeony
Feb 3, 2004, 05:03 AM
Just attempted to play a game on Yahoo called "Rocket Mania". A notice states that the game cannot be played on UN*X or Macintosh computers. However...doesn't seem to be a problem playing it except for the fact that I don't have sound.

Also, no problems with text when running "Hearts". Everything looks and plays well, including sound -- aside from the fact that I'm lousy at the game.

vanmonkey
Feb 3, 2004, 08:03 AM
Anybody Try Yahoo Chess yet?
I know last time there was a jav update I couldn't read anything on the game. People whould chat with me and all I saw were boxes with "X"'s in them!
I'm a chess geek, and I won't install this update if I can't pay it anymore!

bousozoku
Feb 3, 2004, 10:02 AM
I don't even bother with Yahoo! games since they don't usually work right on non-Windows systems. Try http://www.gamehouse.com/ The games always seem fine.

vanmonkey
Feb 3, 2004, 02:01 PM
Yeah, but there's no chess at gamehouse!

fortgreen1
Feb 3, 2004, 05:14 PM
after installing, 1.4.2
my java site generator started having problems.
I generate site in the terminal using that java site builder thing.


I am guessing that now I have different version of xslt processor installed?
It seems that this version does not like the attribute names that starts with numbers,, in xsl,

so I can't parse
<xsl:template name="3d_Anim">

but i can do
<xsl:template name="THREE_D_Anim">
...
am I right???
or is there other way to fix this???
thanks

Omad0n
Feb 4, 2004, 12:18 PM
Gamehouse is cool. but I'm looking to fix yahoo so I can play Go from home.