PDA

View Full Version : Boxee streams work in UK?




netdog
Nov 20, 2008, 06:47 AM
I know that using Boxee, I can watch networked rips of my DVDs, but can I watch any of the stream channels off the Internet in the Boxee menu or are they all US only?



OldGuyDave
Nov 22, 2008, 02:17 PM
Just try it. :confused:
I'm in Germany when I try to stream the Serials or movies in Boxee I just get a "Not possible outside the U.S." But in Germany you can't even rent movies from iTunes.

oftheheavens
Nov 23, 2008, 07:46 PM
i think that happeneds everywhere outside the US but i am going to try it. I am in Japan.

crosby1991
Nov 24, 2008, 05:42 AM
only HULU and CBS are the ones restricted to the US(you can always try and find ways to circumvent this hotspot shield ,US proxy servers etc) there are plenty of other channels (Comedy Central,My spaceTV,Video podcasts ,On networks etc..) plus they are always adding more content to other geographical locations..

oftheheavens
Nov 24, 2008, 07:06 AM
only HULU and CBS are the ones restricted to the US(you can always try and find ways to circumvent this hotspot shield ,US proxy servers etc) there are plenty of other channels (Comedy Central,My spaceTV,Video podcasts ,On networks etc..) plus they are always adding more content to other geographical locations..

How would you go about using hulu on boxee with a proxy? Sorry if this is a dumb question but I haven't used it yet. Thanks.

Shoesy
Nov 24, 2008, 08:26 AM
How would you go about using hulu on boxee with a proxy? Sorry if this is a dumb question but I haven't used it yet. Thanks.

Unfortunately you need more than a normal proxy to get round hulu's geo protection- it can be done on the desktop (apparently) but I dont hold out much hope on Appletv.