PDA

View Full Version : Archos 5 - Is it Mac friendly?




Jets
Nov 25, 2008, 03:28 PM
If anyone can help me, I'd be grateful.

I was thinking of buying an iPod touch, but I came across the Archos 5/5g recently, and I can't decide which to get. Its a no-brainer for me really, because the Archos has everything and more, that I need, and it's only marginally more expensive. The problem is: I have no idea (even after lengthy research) whether Archos products are compatible with Mac/iTunes/Quicktime etc.

If anyone knows.
PLEASE HELP ME!



idiosynkrazy
Dec 18, 2008, 01:04 AM
i just received mine and it is compatible with a mac, you just need to use it as a hard drive, it's not compatible with itunes tho, wish i would've known that beforehand...knowing that, i would've bought the archos 5 anyways.

Jets
Dec 26, 2008, 03:58 PM
But you can still add music from iTunes to it, can't you? You just have to transfer the files. I'm just about to make my decision, so I really need to get an educated point of view.

Withfries
Dec 22, 2010, 03:47 AM
I have just bought an Archos 1 vision. Mistake. It isn't compatible with i-tunes and therefore you lose the 'sync' button functionality. Now, having apparently transferred the files OK, the Archos doesn't read the file type, displaying all the titles labouriously drag-n'-dropped with a peeled page with a question mark. So, no - Archos products are not Mac-compatible, and as the entry-level i-pod shuffle has the functionality of a flint axe -
So my question would be- why won't the Archos read the music content of transferred files?