PDA

View Full Version : Adobe CS3 running on Boot Camp on a Mac?




NXTMIKE
Nov 28, 2008, 02:16 PM
I'm highly considering of buying a MacBook and already have Adobe Master Collection CS3 for Windows, so I don't want to buy a new one only because its going to be on a mac, but would the Windows version of CS3 install and work fine on Boot Camp?

Thanks.



sickmacdoc
Nov 28, 2008, 04:46 PM
One thing to consider is that Adobe does have a crossgrade option in which you can obtain Mac versions of programs that you currently own the PC version of, with only minimal charges for the media.

Can't comment on relative performance though- sorry.

Melrose
Nov 29, 2008, 06:56 AM
Photoshop would be slower on a MacBook than on a MacBook Pro.

I have Fusion on my MacBook Pro and used CS2/Win on it a while ago. Nasty nasty. (okay not nasty but much slower) I don't recommend using any big program in a Virtual Machine.

I'd go for the 'switch-to-Mac' option, and get a MacBook Pro at that. Your creativity will thank you later.

Winni
Nov 30, 2008, 10:18 AM
I have Fusion on my MacBook Pro and used CS2/Win on it a while ago. Nasty nasty. (okay not nasty but much slower) I don't recommend using any big program in a Virtual Machine..

Well, he was talking about BootCamp - meaning running CS3 natively - and not about virtualization.

Why Apple had to assign a stupid marketing name to a multi-boot feature and a driver collection for Windows is beyond me, but at least they managed to confuse everybody with it.

So when you use "BootCamp", that just means that you use your PC to run Windows instead of OS X. Yeah, that's right: Your PC. Because technically, there is no difference at all between a Mac and a PC - it uses nVidia, AMD/ATI and Intel chipsets like any other Dell or Toshiba or Acer or Asus or Lenovo machine out there. It only has an Apple design, that's it.

So CS3 in "BootCamp" will run as good as it does on any other Windows machine with the same technical specifications as your Mac. However, there's a chance that CS3 in BootCamp will perform better on the same machine as its Mac version.

motoxpress
Nov 30, 2008, 03:37 PM
I would just take advantage of their cross-grade option. I did it with my CS2 suite and it cost me $5 or $10 total.

-mx

Melrose
Nov 30, 2008, 04:27 PM
So when you use "BootCamp", that just means that you use your PC to run Windows instead of OS X. Yeah, that's right: Your PC. Because technically, there is no difference at all between a Mac and a PC - it uses nVidia, AMD/ATI and Intel chipsets like any other Dell or Toshiba or Acer or Asus or Lenovo machine out there. It only has an Apple design, that's it.

Sorry to sidestep your elaborate explanation but I've had XP installed on my iMac for quite a while now - in Boot Camp no less. I misread his question is all.

OP: In Boot Camp you should have no difficulty at all, no. In a virtual machine it will slow down but if you're running it in as the sole operating system it will be just fine. I installed my old Windows version of CS2 installed on it for my dad and it's been fine.

puma1552
Nov 30, 2008, 11:06 PM
I would just take advantage of their cross-grade option. I did it with my CS2 suite and it cost me $5 or $10 total.

-mx

I don't suppose they will give this to you if you purchased the CS3 suite through an Academic license with a college?

motoxpress
Nov 30, 2008, 11:53 PM
I don't suppose they will give this to you if you purchased the CS3 suite through an Academic license with a college?

Yes they will.

-mx

puma1552
Dec 1, 2008, 12:09 AM
Awesome. What all do I need to get the cross-grade?

I may no longer have access to the original CS3 receipts, unless email versions from Adobe are acceptable.

Will this also work for Lightroom?