PDA

View Full Version : Normal Temps?




Fonzijr1964
Dec 21, 2008, 11:23 AM
Are my temps normal?
I have the air in my sig rev A

The SSD is "32" degrees F i dont think so

(in F)



justit
Dec 21, 2008, 11:35 AM
Same here, nothing out of the norm. These are sensors mounted inside that iStat reports back on. The main one to watch is the CPU.

Ironic
Dec 21, 2008, 11:36 AM
Yep Norm for Rev A, it's crazy hot!
Move to a B and be surprised :)

Fonzijr1964
Dec 21, 2008, 11:41 AM
Same here, nothing out of the norm. These are sensors mounted inside that iStat reports back on. The main one to watch is the CPU.

The 32 degrees seems silly

Cynicalone
Dec 21, 2008, 12:14 PM
Are my temps normal?
I have the air in my sig rev A

The SSD is "32" degrees F i dont think so

(in F)

The 32 degrees seems silly

Yeah that is normal for the SSD. Rev A or B it doesn't have anything installed to measure the temp of the SSD the way a HDD does. If you switch it to Celsius it will show 0 all the time.

Fiveos22
Dec 21, 2008, 12:18 PM
What's a good, very small memory footprint, app for checking temp stats on a mac?...I fooled around with something when Tiger first came out (it was a dashboard app) but it was quite the memory hog.

Better yet, how could I get this through the command line?

Cynicalone
Dec 21, 2008, 12:29 PM
What's a good, very small memory footprint, app for checking temp stats on a mac?...I fooled around with something when Tiger first came out (it was a dashboard app) but it was quite the memory hog.

Better yet, how could I get this through the command line?

I use iStat Pro (http://www.apple.com/downloads/dashboard/status/istatpro.html), it takes up very little memory and it's free.

ArturFelipe
Dec 21, 2008, 01:09 PM
I Have a Rev A too but mine is not that hot ...

well, not so hot like in your photo ... mine now while i post ...

almost Half of that ...

try changing your thermal paste ... :)

Fonzijr1964
Dec 21, 2008, 01:55 PM
I Have a Rev A too but mine is not that hot ...

well, not so hot like in your photo ... mine now while i post ...

almost Half of that ...

try changing your thermal paste ... :)

i really dont want to do that. The last time i did it on a PC i shorted the Processor our.

J the Ninja
Dec 21, 2008, 02:36 PM
i really dont want to do that. The last time i did it on a PC i shorted the Processor our.

Then don't use silver paste.

justit
Dec 21, 2008, 03:05 PM
Then don't use silver paste.

Do you have experience using an alternative? If not, may I suggest it could also be impoper technique in applying the paste. Too much leads to greater conduction of heat. Here's a great tut that helped me out:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=6748970&postcount=6

Fonzijr1964
Dec 22, 2008, 03:55 PM
no u see i had a moment of static discharge
lol