Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

McGilli

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 11, 2008
I really wish, i mean REALLY wish Apple would get on the biometric fingerprint readers for their notebooks. As I have a MBA I wish they would put in in the MBA.

If you have never used a machine with one - you are missing out. Basically it replaces the need to ever type in a password again, for any site or application you use - even logging into the OS.

Apple is usually so 'ahead' of the others - I wish they would include this - even if it was an 'extra' model feature that cost more I would grab it.

Anyone else?

TheMasin9

macrumors 6502a
Dec 22, 2004
Huber Heights, OH
Yeah, right....

This tech is very much a waste of space in apple computers. We won't ever see it as anything more than a third party peripheral...

jonbravo77

macrumors 65816
Feb 20, 2008
Phoenix, AZ
Sorry, don't find that much use for it. They should incorporate retinal scanning using the iSight, now that is technology... :D

SFStateStudent

macrumors 604
Aug 28, 2007
San Francisco California, USA
Please don't incorporate anything related to fingerprint readers; they are unreliable and cause nothin' but headaches for users. The War Department has a Dell computer (office issued computer) with that bonehead app and she's constantly taking it in to reset the computer at her office's IT department, and she's constantly using my MBA...:(

Les Kern

macrumors 68040
Apr 26, 2002
Alabama
Please don't incorporate anything related to fingerprint readers; they are unreliable and cause nothin' but headaches for users. (

I have them on all my PC's and they work flawlessly... but I think the answer to this question as far as Apple is concerned is: No.
They would NEVER ruin the artistic lines of any of their products. And THAT'S the only thing to consider.

SFStateStudent

macrumors 604
Aug 28, 2007
San Francisco California, USA