PDA

View Full Version : 2 hour old iMac died!




APPLEFAN8
Dec 28, 2008, 12:01 PM
Well I was upgrading the software on the computer that my parents just got and then out of no where the power went out on it! So I held the power button and this blue screen came up saying all these codes and saying to restart it so after 3 times. I packed it back up and my dad and I are going back to best buy tomorrow and exchanging it! This sucks!



Passive101
Dec 28, 2008, 12:05 PM
The power went off to it. Files can be corrupted. Did you at least try to restore it with your disc?

Also did you have it hooked up to a surge protector or UPS?

This doesn't sound like it is Apple's or Best Buy's fault.

Schtumple
Dec 28, 2008, 12:05 PM
Don't go in angry at BB, it's not their fault your power went out...

What Passive 101 said as well, try using the restore discs...

APPLEFAN8
Dec 28, 2008, 12:11 PM
The power went off to it. Files can be corrupted. Did you at least try to restore it with your disc?

Also did you have it hooked up to a surge protector or UPS?

This doesn't sound like it is Apple's or Best Buy's fault.

yeah its hooked up to a surge protector. How can I use the restore disks if it is at the apple start up screen and then tells me to restart it?

APPLEFAN8
Dec 28, 2008, 12:11 PM
Don't go in angry at BB, it's not their fault your power went out...

What Passive 101 said as well, try using the restore discs...

oh I know that i'm just saying were probably going to try and return it and exchange it for one.

aethelbert
Dec 28, 2008, 12:11 PM
yeah its hooked up to a surge protector. How can I use the restore disks if it is at the apple start up screen and then tells me to restart it?
Force it to boot from the disc by holding down c.

bartelby
Dec 28, 2008, 12:12 PM
yeah its hooked up to a surge protector. How can I use the restore disks if it is at the apple start up screen and then tells me to restart it?

Boot from the first disk.

Insert the disk and restart whilst holding 'c' down.

plinden
Dec 28, 2008, 12:12 PM
Put in the disk that came with it. Reboot with 'C' pressed.

APPLEFAN8
Dec 28, 2008, 12:19 PM
Boot from the first disk.

Insert the disk and restart whilst holding 'c' down.

I guess C you mean command?

Tallest Skil
Dec 28, 2008, 12:20 PM
I guess C you mean command?

No, the letter.

APPLEFAN8
Dec 28, 2008, 12:22 PM
No, the letter.

ok i'll try it and let you guys know what happens in like 2 mins.

APPLEFAN8
Dec 28, 2008, 12:25 PM
It just has the spinny circle and it keeps going under the apple logo.

APPLEFAN8
Dec 28, 2008, 12:29 PM
Guys it worked! Thanks! Right now its reloading OS X onto the computer. Hopefully it wont shut off randomly like it did! I was like crap when it happened. I'll let you know the progress of what happens next. Thanks for telling me because I never would have thought of it lol.

APPLEFAN8
Dec 28, 2008, 12:41 PM
It says 3 hours to go great! lol

APPLEFAN8
Dec 28, 2008, 01:07 PM
It just did it again! I'm taking it out of the surge protector because it seems to shut off like 20 mins after turning on the iMac and then just plug it into the outlet instead

gjw4u
Dec 28, 2008, 01:21 PM
Maybe you need a new surge protector.
Hope the reinstall goes well.
BTW why were you upgrading SW on a new iMac i the 1st place?

fohawk17
Dec 28, 2008, 01:28 PM
that sounds like a surge protector issue. if the outlet doesnt work, get one of those battery backup ones. that way if the thing switches to battery power you know its the outlet

Luftwaffles
Dec 28, 2008, 01:28 PM
Maybe you need a new surge protector.
Hope the reinstall goes well.
BTW why were you upgrading SW on a new iMac i the 1st place?

It was probably a month old, from loading the OS to it being fired up the first time. 10.5.6 probably wasn't even loaded on it. Not all that uncommon on Apple's update cycle.

Nero Wolfe
Dec 28, 2008, 01:30 PM
Maybe you need a new surge protector.
Hope the reinstall goes well.
BTW why were you upgrading SW on a new iMac i the 1st place?

Probably because, like the MacBook I just bought, it came with 10.5.5.

APPLEFAN8
Dec 28, 2008, 04:32 PM
Yeah I think it is because it is kind of old but the dell we had it hooked up to never did it. But me and my dad are going back tomorrow to best buy, exchanging it and also getting a new surge protector for the iMac. Hopefully everything goes well.

APPLEFAN8
Dec 28, 2008, 04:33 PM
Maybe you need a new surge protector.
Hope the reinstall goes well.
BTW why were you upgrading SW on a new iMac i the 1st place?

I had to restore it since I had the blue screen with some kernal words at the bottom. We'll be going back tomorrow and getting another 20 inch plus it was an open box item but was never used.

APPLEFAN8
Dec 28, 2008, 08:28 PM
you don't think Best Buy will give us a problem with giving it back saying it randomly shut off and the blue screen came on. Hopefully we'll exchange it plus it is in the 14 day exchange for the computer.

czachorski
Dec 28, 2008, 08:54 PM
you don't think Best Buy will give us a problem with giving it back saying it randomly shut off and the blue screen came on. Hopefully we'll exchange it plus it is in the 14 day exchange for the computer.


I think you should have absolutely no problem exchanging a DOA machine. Read up on their return policy (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?type=page&entryURLType=&entryURLID=&categoryId=cat10004&contentId=1117177044087&id=cat12098). But I would expect that if you go in and are polite and friendly (its not the return guys fault that you got a dud), that you will have absolutely no problem. I would expect to go in, explain the circumstances, and have them take it back and hand you a brand new one.

Good luck!

APPLEFAN8
Dec 28, 2008, 09:01 PM
I think you should have absolutely no problem exchanging a DOA machine. Read up on their return policy (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?type=page&entryURLType=&entryURLID=&categoryId=cat10004&contentId=1117177044087&id=cat12098). But I would expect that if you go in and are polite and friendly (its not the return guys fault that you got a dud), that you will have absolutely no problem. I would expect to go in, explain the circumstances, and have them take it back and hand you a brand new one.

Good luck!

Yeah thanks for the link we got it December 21st but returning it tomorrow. We got 150 off since it was an open item. So maybe they'll give us a new one! Plus were getting a new surge protector.

petermcphee
Dec 28, 2008, 10:02 PM
This sounds similar to the problem that I had with a refurbished 24" iMac. Basically, it would just shut off as though someone had jerked the cord out of the wall. I understand that this is a semi-common issue. The Best Buy folks may even be aware of it, although that is optimistic. Good luck!

APPLEFAN8
Dec 28, 2008, 10:15 PM
This sounds similar to the problem that I had with a refurbished 24" iMac. Basically, it would just shut off as though someone had jerked the cord out of the wall. I understand that this is a semi-common issue. The Best Buy folks may even be aware of it, although that is optimistic. Good luck!

I'm sure they'll take it back. Plus it was an open box item so lol. We'll just get a brand spanking new one!

APPLEFAN8
Dec 29, 2008, 03:57 PM
Well after being in best buy for 2 hours waiting in 2 different lines then coming to find out that they are sold out of the iMac we got the credit card refunded and after drove to the apple store! Got a brand spanking new 20 inch

txhockey9404
Dec 29, 2008, 04:14 PM
Well after being in best buy for 2 hours waiting in 2 different lines then coming to find out that they are sold out of the iMac we got the credit card refunded and after drove to the apple store! Got a brand spanking new 20 inch

Awesome! I hope you enjoy your new iMac! Here's to not having anymore problems! Also, for insurance purposes, go for Applecare by the end of your one year warranty. $200 seems like nothing compared to an $1800 repair bill for a $1200 computer.

By the way, when you were starting the old one, and it shut off, was it as if someone had yanked the plug, then when you went to turn it back on right after, it would not for about 20 seconds?

I had similar problems with a 6 month old iMac, and had it replaced in February after 5 repairs in two weeks (totaled about $1800 for Apple, it was all under warranty :)). (It was a 1st rev aluminum).

APPLEFAN8
Dec 30, 2008, 10:13 PM
yeah so we're getting a new surge protector since the old one for some reason would lose power and that caused the iMac to shut off during the update! Probably get a new one tomorrow and set the baby up before year's end.

aethelbert
Dec 30, 2008, 10:16 PM
Well after being in best buy for 2 hours waiting in 2 different lines then coming to find out that they are sold out of the iMac we got the credit card refunded and after drove to the apple store! Got a brand spanking new 20 inch
The tax-free store in Delaware with the government discount due to your dad being a state police, no?

Why yes, I do have a good memory.

APPLEFAN8
Dec 30, 2008, 11:51 PM
The tax-free store in Delaware with the government discount due to your dad being a state police, no?

Why yes, I do have a good memory.

no this one was in jersey! lol We still got the government discount! ;p;