Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mnstr_trd_sd

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 24, 2004
san diego, ca.
Okay here it goes. I recently got some cash to buy a G5 PM. Should I buy now or wait till the new revisions? If I should wait, how long do you think until the new revisions come out. I'm not that good at holding on to cash and I am a student in need of a fast PM.

What should I do? Please help.

Thanks,

Roger
Soulbyte@sbcglobal.net

johnnyjibbs

macrumors 68030
Sep 18, 2003
London, UK
Personally I would wait (unles you REALLY REALLY HAVE to get it now). Power Mac updates are expected within the next couple of weeks to a month, and you'll then be able to get discounts on the current models at the very least. Top speeds are expected at 2.5GHz so that's quite a leap, plus new graphics cards and possibly new aluminium displays. You'd be kicking yourself to buy something, and suddenly find something a whole lot better out there a couple of weeks later for the same price.

Nik_Doof

macrumors regular
Sep 15, 2003
St Helens, UK
mnstr_trd_sd said:
Okay here it goes. I recently got some cash to buy a G5 PM. Should I buy now or wait till the new revisions? If I should wait, how long do you think until the new revisions come out. I'm not that good at holding on to cash and I am a student in need of a fast PM.

Wait, unless you REALLY need it. Rev Bs cant be that far off imho.

cubist

macrumors 68020
Jul 4, 2002
Muncie, Indiana
Just to be a contrarian, if a single 1.6 or 1.8 is fast enough for you, they're not going to get any cheaper than they are right now. They'll all be sold out before the new models are eventually released (most expect around the end of March).

adamjay

macrumors 6502a
Feb 3, 2004
Indianapolis
i never say "wait for the revision" because most people would get by just fine on a G4 with headroom to spare.